Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Ubiquiti Unifi Controller on FreeNAS

c77dk

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
155
you can run it just fine - in a jail or vm. I ended up just using a vm myself
 

Netdewt

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
98
I'll be running on an Atom E3940 with 8GB RAM. Would either of those be less taxing to the system?
 

c77dk

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
155
with that amount of ram I would try the jail - with vm you generally use more memory. 8GB is the minimum for TrueNAS - are you able to put more ram into the system?
 

sretalla

Wizened Sage
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
3,927
If this is not a good solution, I would just get the Unifi dongle I guess. Or Raspberry Pi but that seems like more fiddling for something that's not any cheaper. I'm frustrated with running the controller on my workstation.
A jail should be fine, but keep an eye on performance of the other NAS functions you're using.

To help, there is a community plugin for it, maybe try that as a start.
 
Last edited:

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
4,581
It's super easy to install in a jail. Create a standard jail and run pkg install unifi5 followed by sysrc "unifi_enable=YES" and then service unifi start and you're up and running.
 

kiriak

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2020
Messages
45
I have Unifi Controller running on a jail, I just used the plug-in.
It is on an old PC with 6 Gb RAM
(with the sole purpose for me to become familiar with TrueNAS before moving to proper hardware).

If I stop the Unifi jail, the RAM used be services is lowered by 400-500 Mb,
so we could assume that this is the impact on RAM ?

There is almost no impact on CPU, as CPU usage (for the whole system) is between 0 and 1% (on an old i3).
 

Netdewt

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
98
Great insight thank you.

This NAS is also for me to learn with, but I also don't want to lose my data. I'll use it as a home server for tax documents and family pictures. 4x4TB HGST Deskstar NAS drives in mirrored vdevs.
 

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
4,581
If I stop the Unifi jail, the RAM used be services is lowered by 400-500 Mb,
so we could assume that this is the impact on RAM ?
Yes, pretty typical for a database on memory usage.
 

Newfoundland.Republic

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
637
The only problem I had was the version of the UniFi controller provided as a plug-in didn't update regularly. I went back to the UniFi controller on in an ESXi VM....
 

Netdewt

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
98
The only problem I had was the version of the UniFi controller provided as a plug-in didn't update regularly. I went back to the UniFi controller on in an ESXi VM....
So with the plug-in, you can't force an update?

Can you create a jail and not use the plug-in in some way to get the most up to date version?
 

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
4,581
Can you create a jail and not use the plug-in in some way to get the most up to date version?
It's super easy to install in a jail. Create a standard jail and run pkg install unifi5 followed by sysrc "unifi_enable=YES" and then service unifi start and you're up and running.
 

Netdewt

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
98
Right, but N.R said it doesn't update very well. I'm sure I misunderstand all these terms.
 

Patrick M. Hausen

Dedicated Sage
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
2,764

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,344
Since this is a new install it might be better to install unifi6 instead of 5. That way you don't have to migrate to 6 eventually.
 

Netdewt

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
98
Since this is a new install it might be better to install unifi6 instead of 5. That way you don't have to migrate to 6 eventually.
Yeah, I have the site currently set up on 6, controller running on Mac OS. I haven't looked into the details but I assume you can move a site to a different controller.
 

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
4,581
Since this is a new install it might be better to install unifi6 instead of 5. That way you don't have to migrate to 6 eventually.
Unifi6 is not available as a package. If you want it you'll have to install the port and I wouldn't recommend that to most new users without an installation guide to follow.
 

Newfoundland.Republic

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
637
Another option would be to set up a docker host (yes, more work) and use the jacobalbery container. He (I'm assuming a "he" - "jacob") seems quite good at keeping the container up to date.
 

Netdewt

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
98
I’m open to trying something more difficult as long as I have a strategy to go back. I just dealt with a big headache re-adopting hardware from an old controller I didn’t have access to anymore. In hindsight it was a simple problem, but it was hard to find the solution (USG had to be updated before it would adopt).

It looks like I have to be on 6 if I don’t want to go through that whole process again.

 
Top