New TrueNAS build from donor Thinkstation P330 - Recommendations Needed

pace

Cadet
Hi everyone,

It's really nice to find this forum.
Recently I have been thinking about purchasing a NAS, I was planning to sell my ThinkStation to fund some of this.
I started where most people start, by looking at the Synology and QNap products that where already available. After seeing the prices, I didn't think I was getting value for money.

Then I found TrueNas, and it seems to offer what i'm looking for at a reasonable price.
Maybe i'm getting a little ahead of myself here, so let me back up for a moment.

I worked as a photographer for many years, and worked with an opensource linux based photo editing workflow.
I built this editing rig from an IBM ThinkStation P330 tower, nothing too crazy:-

4 x 8Gb DDR4-2666 UDIMM 1.2v CL19
1 x Intel i7-8700 (12 core)
2 x Toshiba 2Tb SATA 6.0Gb's
1 x Western Digital WD10EZEZ-08WN4A0
1 x 500Gb CT500P2SSD8 Nvme
1 x P400 Quattro Card
400W Lenovo power supply - PN:SP50H29513

I believe it has a mATX WIN DPK motherboard.

It seems like I can really re-use some of this hardware, and my plan would be to build a basic NAS first, then upgrade it as needed.
My main usage would be file storage for my photos, around 2TB, but I also want to run VM's on the rig, maybe a web based app, and also a test environment for docker builds etc.

Whats important here is that the unit is pretty quiet, but also looks slick, as the ThinkStation case is just horrendous.
I'm based in Europe, so buying part here would be preferred.

I need to scope a nice case for this build, one that could take the current mATX board and hardware, but later I think I would want to upgrade the motherboard.
I also want to upgrade my drives to SATA NAS Drives, for reliability.

Based on my current hardware, and my requirements, I'm open to any recommendations, first for the case, then anything that I should consider while starting this build, maybe network card and storage controllers?