How to upgrade the raid

dwf2008

Dabbler
Hi all. I am totally new to this NAS business. A couple of months ago I converted an old pc (intel i5) into my first NAS by adding a couple of wd red 8 tb drives and installing Truenas Scale. The drives are in a zfs mirror configuration. All seems to be working well although there are many mysteries in the various settings and configuration choices available. I am beginning to think I should add another 8 tb drive and change the config to raid 5 or whatever the zfs equivalent is called. I understand that this will require off loading all the data and then restoring it from backups. What I don’t know is what other steps and/or processes are required. For example, do I need to start from scratch and reinstall Trusnas, or do I just delete the pool and create a new one, etc, etc. You can think of me as a total greenie who doesn’t understand much of the jargon and concepts involved.

So, can someone point me to (or provide) a simple set of instructions on how to do this after I have installed the third storage drive?

Much appreciated.
Thx

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
iXsystems
Just delete the pool and recrate a new pool with RAID level you want.

Export disconnect/delete....

dwf2008

Dabbler
Thank you!

NugentS

MVP
What model of WD Red are those?

dwf2008

Dabbler
8 tb
red plus

ChrisRJ

Wizard
I am beginning to think I should add another 8 tb drive and change the config to raid 5 or whatever the zfs equivalent is called.
In general this is not recommended. But I am a big of starting with requirements/motivation/use-case: What makes you think into this direction? Without that knowledge it is not possible to give targeted guidance.

For a better understanding I strongly recommend the resources available on this forum. Please find a selection in my signature ("Recommended readings"). Also, be very careful with YouTube videos about TrueNAS. The vast majority is simply crap.

dwf2008

Dabbler