Raid

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robert Hart

Dabbler
Hi All,

I'm new to FreeNAS and building nas drive's. I understand Raids and currently have a synology Nas in Raid 10. I'm building a nas a need to know if I should be using hardware raid or software raid and if i should be using raid 10 or a zfs alternative. My hardware will consist of the following

Supermicro SuperChassis 826BE1C-R920LPB
Supermicro X10SRH-CLN4F
Intel Xeon E5-2620 V3
8 x 4tb HDD
32gb ddr4 ram

any help would be greatly appreciated

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
Hi Robert,

ZFS is "software RAID" in a way, and absolutely does not utilize or get along with a hardware RAID card. You want to present raw drives directly to the operating system, without being in arrays of their own, and let FreeNAS/ZFS handle the data mirroring/parity.

That's a good system you've got there. What will its purpose be? It seems a bit overkill for general home media storage, so I assume you want to run heavier storage workloads on this. If so, configure it as "RAID10" with multiple mirrored vdevs.

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems

Robert Hart

Dabbler
It will mainly be for plex server using direct stream but the odd bit of transcoding here and there. Im on my 3rd Nas drive due to an ever growing media collection and want to be future proof for longer than a year which is the maximum I've had my current nas drive for.

is there a performance difference between software and hardware raids? or reliability? thanks for your help

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems