How to diagnose strange crashes

aseimel

Dabbler
Hello everyone,

I very irregularity experience strange crashes in my system that I am simply am unable to diagnose (see crash screen in attached image). I am quite new to truenas but have been building linux servers for a while.

My server is built from a repurposed workstation that has been running fine for over a years and it has been running fine for two weeks and suddenly is producing these strange crashes

My hardware
  • Installed bare metal
  • Asrock B560 Pro4 (the workstation used a different motherboard)
  • 96 GB ram
  • Intel i9 11900 (non-k)
  • PSU: Flexguru 300w
  • one mirrored pool for frequently used data with two: WD BLACK SN850
  • one pool raid z1 with one 8tb HGST deskstar and two WD Ultrastar DC HC510 8TB
  • I use the onboard sata controllers
I am confident that this is not an overheating issue as at most get 60C. The system always reboots without problem and operates just as before.
I do get a waring on boot that I am not sure about "IPVS: rr: TCP: [ ip...:port] no destination available". The containers on the respective ports works fine.

One possible issue could be that I currently using the onboard gigabit port and really push its bandwidth that this cause this behavior? I am waiting for a mellanox conectX-3 at the moment.

I cannot detect any hardware or software flaw and am a bit lost how to diagnose this correctly.

Thank you!

Attachments

• IMG_0045.jpg
    IMG_0045.jpg
    435 KB · Views: 154

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Your power supply seems very small for the required load.

aseimel

Dabbler
It should be more than sufficient given that the CPU has a 65w TDP and all drives should at the absolute maximum not draw more than 100w.

aseimel

Dabbler
Your power supply seems very small for the required load.

Ok I have another (unfortunately very loud ) 500w psu i'll try if using that fixes the problem

jgreco

Resident Grinch