SOLVED Upgrade Procedure for Crashplan 4.4.1 on older FreeNAS 9.2.1.7

Status
Not open for further replies.

jadz

Dabbler
I have not upgraded to FreeNAS 9.3 because of initial hardware compatibility issues with my HP ProLiant server. As such I am still running FreeNAS 9.2.1.7. As many others experienced recently, CrashPlan failed on my jail/pluin install. I was not able to get the original installation happy, so I attempted to setup a clean jail. These are the steps I followed.

I am no expert in FreeBSD, FreeNAS or CrashPlan. But I tried to piece together the information found in various threads in this forum to make a procedure that works to get backups working for me. Please feel free to provide corrections to the information here.

1. Install the CrashPlan Plugin (this both creates a jail and installs the plugin).

2. Enable ssh (optional, you can also use the web-based terminal access or jump through the primary FreeNAS shell - see the help documentation for more info about accessing your jails).
    1. vi /etc/rc.conf

2. change sshd_enable=”NO” to sshd_enable=”YES”

3. vi /etc/ssh/sshd_config to uncomment PermitRootLogin setting and change value to yes

4. set password for root user in jail (open terminal using web-interface then just run the passwd command to set the password)
  3. Upgrade default mis-configured pkg software (required due to older jail template see https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/keeping-the-jails-up-to-date.20062/ )
    1. portsnap fetch extract (this downloads and extracts the ports, and takes a while)

2. cd /usr/ports/ports-mgmt/pkg

3. make deinstall reinstall
  4. Install Bash and link it where the CrashPlan upgrader is expecting
    1. pkg install bash

2. ln -siv /usr/local/bin/bash /bin/bash