Ridiculously slow transfer speeds (2-3MBit/s)

GriffODoodle

Cadet
I am new to TrueNAS just over the last few months set up a system and learning as I go. I had hardware issues with the motherboard on the (15 year old) PC I was using, so I got a slightly newer one and the network speeds are so slow I can't do anything useful with it.

General Hardware:
Intel i7 4770 machine
16GB RAM
512GB SSD for OS etc
4x4GB HDD raid-z1

Network Hardware (hardwired):
Network Cable: Cat6
Network Switch: 1GBit
Ethernet controller (per lspci): Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 0c)

Troubleshooting steps:
iperf results: 1.48Mbits/sec (click for more details)
------------------------------------------------------------
root@truenas[~]# iperf -c 192.168.0.100 -r
Server listening on TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 64.0 KByte (default)
Client connecting to 192.168.0.100, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 32.8 KByte (default)
[ 1] local 192.168.0.158 port 62364 connected with 192.168.0.100 port 5001
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 1] 0.00-11.97 sec 12.8 MBytes 8.99 Mbits/sec
[ 2] local 192.168.0.158 port 5001 connected with 192.168.0.100 port 62031
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 2] 0.00-16.30 sec 2.88 MBytes 1.48 Mbits/sec
I tried replacing the network cable, connecting directly to the router, iperf between other devices on the network, putting another computer in the same place as the NAS on the same cable etc
Essentially everything I could to confirm it's definitely the NAS that is getting poor speeds.

What can I try next?
I know the Realtek NICs are generally not great with TrueNAS, I see other comments about them being limited to 100Mbit/sec, but right now that would be a huge jump up for me! I am going to get another one when I can, but I don't know if that's the bottleneck and would welcome any advice on anything else I can try until then (or even just confirmation that replacing the NIC will solve the issue).

Arwen