My first guide on FreeNAS with FlexGet and Transmission on a Jail

Status
Not open for further replies.

9bNv1xVCEx

Cadet
This is my first post in the FreeNAS forum. I have been using a FreeNAS box as a home file-server for the last 3 years now. I am grateful for FreeNAS and I thought I should give back to the community by sharing my current setup configuration.

I've tried to document the steps from setting up to configuring the main aspects of the machine, so that other people with similar requirements may take advantage of my experiences. This guide is also shared in GitHub by clicking here and I will to update it with any comments or suggestions!

FreeNAS Setup
The purpose of this guide is to set out instructions for:
1. Installing FreeNAS and setting basic configuration required for basic file-sharing through CIFS.
2. Install a BSD Jail to hold Transmission and Flexget.
3. Setup configuration for storage and file-sharing of the Jail.

Chapter 1: Deployment of FreeNAS and BSD Jail
  1. Use Win32 Disk Imager to burn the .iso file of FreeNAS to a USB Memory Stick
  2. Boot the machine from that USB and follow on-screen instructions to install FreeNAS on a second memory stick.

The second memory stick will be the production storage and will host the actual operating system. The first memory stick can be repurposed after installation.

Ensure BIOS settings allow booting from USB;

If you are installing on headless server, connect a screen for the installation part. I hove not yet found a way to bypass this requirement.

3. Follow on-screen instructions to complete the installation.

For a home-setup consider whether it may be preferable to configure network interfaces to use DHCP.

4. Access FreeNAS WebGUI to begin configuration.
  5. To enable gmail integration, configure smtp.gmail.com:587 to use TLS and if 2-step verification is enabled on gmail (recommended) generate an Application-Specific password for explicit use by FreeNAS.