(False positive?) Windows Defender message on config backup

angelus249

Dabbler
Hi folks,

I've got a faulted USB boot drive and wanted to backup the config before resilvering the new drive. However, Windows Defender reported a Trojan/Script find and blocked the download.
1709831422860.png

While I found an old "false positive" topic regarding the whole TrueNAS image --> https://www.truenas.com/community/threads/threat-blocked-message-windows-defender.108658/ I didn't find anything regarding the config itself, though.

Any thoughts?

Btw. the USB drive failed a few days ago and I immediately saved the config back then as well, without any issues/reports.
I run latest the TrueNAS Core 13.0-U6.1 for my NAS and Windows 11 Pro, 23H2 with recent Windows Defender virus definitions on the client, where I downloaded the config.

Cheers

RadolBR

Cadet
I'm not a security expert. But I don't think it's anything serious.

Probably just a few lines from the configuration file that Defender picked up as a possible virus and put on warning.
Wacatac is known for being able to open ports, perhaps some line that has something with SSH or another type of access to the machine.

But using another antimalware won't hurt. Better safe than sorry.

angelus249

Dabbler
I would agree, hence adding the "False positive?" part in the subject. However, based on the previous feedback regarding the false positive on the image I was curious if a) others experienced the same here and b) if iXsystems is taking any action.

Well, maybe we'll learn some more some day.

Either way, the resilvering is long done :)

Cheers

Davvo

MVP
That's interesting since I haven't had issues handling the config file a few weeks ago.

stephen.dail

Cadet
That's interesting since I haven't had issues handling the config file a few weeks ago.
I only recently started getting the reports as well.