CrashPlan updated to 4.3.0, now will not connect

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
9
After messing around with this back and forth with fixes for a while (it would seem to work, sync block information, then sit and wait without uploading anything), I uninstalled both the Windows client and the plugin and started from scratch. It kept my data and I was able to start from my previous state. The weird thing is that none of the tricks mentioned in this thread were necessary once I wiped it all clean; the GUID file doesn't even exist on the server and the server never needed to update. But it's working so...

Anyway, thanks for all the help!
 

Phlogi

Dabbler
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
33
For those that use the Mac CrashPlan app for headless configuration, I have written a little script you can put into Automator which will automatically configure the GUI.

I have found that the port and key on the CrashPlan engine changes at engine startup, so the script pulls down and extracts the port from the .ui_info file each time it's run, then makes the necessary changes, launches CrashPlan, and reverts the change after you close the app.

USAGE:
- Ensure you save the SSH keys for the CrashPlan jail to your Mac (search the Internet for this - it's relatively simple). This allows you to logon without prompting for an SSH password
- Change the CPSSHUSER variable at the top to the username of your jail (I have crashplan)
- Change the CPHOST to the hostname / IP address of the CrashPlan jail. You should be able to see this in the Jail section of the FreeNAS config screens.



Hope this helps others! I am sure you could do something similar for Windows, I don't have the inclination as I rarely use Windows to access CrashPlan!

The script looks fine to me, however it doesn't work - any prerequisites on the server side? This is my config:

Code:
root@crashplan_1:/ # cat /usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/conf/my.service.xml | grep Port
  <servicePort>4285</servicePort>
root@crashplan_1:/ # cat /usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/conf/my.service.xml | grep serviceHost
  <serviceHost>0.0.0.0</serviceHost>
root@crashplan_1:/ # sockstat -l |grep 4285
root  java  9625  61 tcp4  *:4285  *:*
root  java  9624  61 tcp4  *:4285  *:*
root  java  9623  61 tcp4  *:4285  *:*


Crashplan on Mac just stops at startup up, showing loading GUI for some time and then: Unable to connect to the backup engine.
 

Phlogi

Dabbler
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
33
For some reason it didn't work due to version inconsistencies in my case. I figured out that crashplan was not able to update itself due to missing bash, therefore:

Code:
pkg update
pkg install bash
ln -siv /usr/local/bin/bash /bin/bash


.. and the udpate worked.

Also, there is a lot of confusing and misleading information regarding this topic, so here are my final conclusions:

  • It definately works with version 4.4.1 / Build 30 (java can bind properly)
  • The only change on the server necessary for the easiest method without ssh tunnel is the serviceHost tag in /usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/conf/my.service.xml
Code:
<serviceUIConfig>
  <serviceHost>0.0.0.0</serviceHost>


  • Just never start messing with the ports or editing any other files - it's unnecessary.
Either do this everytime you want to connect, because the token will change after every crashplan restart or use my script from here (for OS X): https://gist.github.com/Phlogi/8654e353786ed1cf0858
  • Copy /var/lib/crashplan/.ui_info to the correct place on your desktop machine and edit the IP address at the end (to your servers address)
  • That's it! On latest crashplan version on your desktop and a fresh install, there is no other changes necessary! Latest crashplan (4.4.1) will actually use the IP address from .ui_info.


If you disagree, prove it :)
 
Last edited:

stualden

Explorer
Joined
Apr 11, 2015
Messages
80
Perfect, that did it, thank you! Wrestled with this for a while. Fixing the missing bash got the server to update, but then after manually updating the client to 4.4.1 (Windows in my case) I was unable to connect to the server until I saw your last hint about editing the IP address at the end.

I hope I didn't mislead anyone earlier, but the .ui_info structure and behavior definitely keeps changing on us:

--Originally with 4.3.0, there was no IP address at the end, neither on server nor client (and that worked fine for me for at least a month or so).

--Later, it appeared to need 0.0.0.0 at the end (both on the server and the client).

--With 4.4.1, I've now got (per Phlogi's instructions above) 0.0.0.0 on the end of the server's .ui_info, and the server's IP address on the end of the client's .ui_info. All is now well in CrashPlan land (at least until the next update).
 

Spacemarine

Contributor
Joined
Jul 19, 2014
Messages
105
Phlogi, thank you so much! I wasted countless hours in the last few days trying to get it to work, I tried countless methods which didn't work because they were intended for different versions of crashplan.

If only we had a plugin that's up to date (contains 4.4.1 and not the two year old 3.6.3) and your small post. The world would be so much easier!!
 

Phlogi

Dabbler
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
33
Thanks for the feedback, I'm glad to hear that it also works for you guys and appreciate your further details that complete the full picture.
 

brashquido

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
17
Well, I am getting further than I was. I can connect to my FreeNas using the 4.4.1 client, however it just sits there once I have entered my username and password. My Crashplan plugin on my FreeNas box is still at 4.3.3, so I am guessing it is just a matter of waiting it to upgrade to 4.4.1 too (I have installed bash)?
 

Phlogi

Dabbler
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
33
Well, I am getting further than I was. I can connect to my FreeNas using the 4.4.1 client, however it just sits there once I have entered my username and password. My Crashplan plugin on my FreeNas box is still at 4.3.3, so I am guessing it is just a matter of waiting it to upgrade to 4.4.1 too (I have installed bash)?
Do you see your client connecting inside the jail?

Code:
tail -f /usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/log/service.log.0
 

danb35

Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
15,504
After making it through a number of updates, now I'm having trouble with 4.4.1 as well. I'm running the 4.4.1 client on a Mac. It's gone through several updates in the last several months, and has worked fine up until this point. Now, when I attempt to launch the client, I get the splash screen, followed by a "Critical Error" dialog box that says, "CrashPlan has been disconnected from the backup engine." When I click OK on that box, it exits. Curiously, though, the menu bar icon does show the status of the backups as they're happening, so there's clearly some communication with the backend going on. Here's what comes up in
/usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/log/service.log.0 when I try to launch the client--I've masked my email, but it's otherwise unchanged:

Code:
[10.06.15 10:32:19.641 INFO    W187448_SystemWatche com.code42.messaging.nio.MessageQueue   ] MW:: STATS:UI: numWorkers=2, queue.size=0, MessageQueueStats[num=69768, numSinceLast=36, handling=Counter[count = 24000, rate = 0.07, rollingRate = 0.61], waiting=Counter[count = 310332550, rate = 1999.95, rollingRate = 1999.97], workload=0.000]
[10.06.15 10:32:19.651 INFO    W187448_SystemWatche com.code42.messaging.nio.MessageQueue   ] MW:: STATS:Peer: numWorkers=4, queue.size=0, MessageQueueStats[num=1833, numSinceLast=1, handling=Counter[count = 25781, rate = 0.00, rollingRate = 0.00], waiting=Counter[count = 619788912, rate = 5690.79, rollingRate = 1901.67], workload=0.000]
[10.06.15 10:32:26.597 INFO    Sel-UI-A             com.backup42.service.ui.UIController    ] UISession Created - 710337840362153118
[10.06.15 10:32:26.973 INFO    MQ-UI-0              com.backup42.service.ui.UIController    ] UserActionRequest: StatusQueryMessage[710337840362153118] CPD|9f0916f0-8d0c-43c5-aa5b-e8d075e25c37|dan|/Users/dan|
[10.06.15 10:32:26.973 INFO    MQ-UI-0              com.backup42.service.ui.UIInfoUtility   ] Loaded address=0.0.0.0, port=4243, and token from location=/var/lib/crashplan/.ui_info
[10.06.15 10:32:27.016 INFO    MQ-UI-0              com.code42.logging.AppLogWriter         ] WRITE app.log in 41ms
[10.06.15 10:32:27.016 INFO    MQ-UI-0              com.backup42.service.ui.UIController    ] UserActionResponse: StatusResponseMessage@18026048[ session=710337840362153118 ][ User@-383220706[ userId=1869805, name=Dan, username=MASKED ], AuthorityLocation@33050500[ location=central.crashplan.com:443, hideAddress=false, isLocked=false ], orgType=CONSUMER, upgrading=false, UpdateLicenseMessage[] [ authenticated=true, updateConfigPassword=false, username=danb35@gmail.com, securityKeyType=AccountPassword, dataKeyExists=true, secureDataKeyExists=true, secureDataKeyQA=null, authorizeRules=AuthorizeRules [hashPassword=true, ldap=false, minPasswordLength=5, usernameIsAnEmail=true, deferredAllowed=false], blocked=false ], locale=en_US, websiteHost=https://www.crashplan.com, defaultRestoreFolder=/usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/conf, os=Linux ]
[10.06.15 10:32:30.357 INFO    Factory$Notifier-UI0 com.backup42.service.ui.UIController    ] UISession Ended after less than a minute - 710337840362153118
[10.06.15 10:32:30.357 INFO    Factory$Notifier-UI0 backup42.service.backup.BackupController] UI:: AUTO IDLE... lowBandwidth=0 B/s, activeThrottleRate=20
[10.06.15 10:32:30.357 INFO    Factory$Notifier-UI0 com.backup42.common.command.CliExecutor ] RUN COMMAND: auto.idle  >  CommandResult@20085968[ auto.idle, success=true, result=null ]


In the jail:
Code:
root@crashplan_1:/usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/conf # grep Host my.service.xml 
    <serviceHost>0.0.0.0</serviceHost>
      <websiteHost>https://www.crashplan.com</websiteHost>
root@crashplan_1:/usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/conf # cat ui.properties 
#Fri Dec 09 09:50:22 CST 2005
#serviceHost=127.0.0.1
#servicePort=4243
#pollerPeriod=1000  # 1 second
#connectRetryDelay=10000  # 10 seconds
#connectRetryAttempts=3
#showWelcome=true

#font.small=
#font.default=
#font.title=
#font.message.header=
#font.message.body=
#font.tab=
root@crashplan_1:/usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/conf # cat /var/lib/crashplan/.ui_info ;echo
4243,9f0916f0-8d0c-43c5-aa5b-e8d075e25c37,0.0.0.0


On my client machine:
Code:
pc-00201:CrashPlan dan$ cat .ui_info
4243,9f0916f0-8d0c-43c5-aa5b-e8d075e25c37,192.168.1.13
pc-00201:CrashPlan dan$ cat ui_dan.properties 
#Tue Oct 06 10:38:48 EDT 2015
expandedDestinations=1\:42
MessageDisplayed.UpgradeReminder=1443704900758
servicePort=4243
window=440,182,800,610
serviceHost=192.168.1.13
plus=true
 

Phlogi

Dabbler
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
33
@danb35: What if you
Code:
mv ui_dan.properties ui_dan_disabled.properties
?


Also please post:
Code:
cat /var/log/crashplan/engine_* | grep CPVER
 

danb35

Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
15,504
Ah, getting somewhere:
Code:
root@crashplan_1:/ # cat /var/log/crashplan/engine_* | grep CPVER
[10.04.15 15:25:50.184 INFO    main                 root                                    ] CPVERSION = 4.3.3 - 1430802000433 (2015-05-05T05:00:00:433+0000) - Build: 3

...so the engine hasn't updated yet. I've seen conflicting reports as to whether bash is necessary for the update to 4.4.1 to work, but I've installed bash into that jail just to be sure.

I quit the client, renamed ui_dan.properties, and restarted the client. It created a new ui_dan.properties containing only
Code:
#Tue Oct 06 15:53:53 EDT 2015


...and died with the same error message as before. The service.log.0 for that attempt:
Code:
[10.06.15 15:55:33.261 INFO    Sel-UI-A             com.backup42.service.ui.UIController    ] UISession Created - 710370365797164190
[10.06.15 15:55:33.518 INFO    MQ-UI-0              com.backup42.service.ui.UIController    ] UserActionRequest: StatusQueryMessage[710370365797164190] CPD|9f0916f0-8d0c-43c5-aa5b-e8d075e25c37|dan|/Users/dan|
[10.06.15 15:55:33.518 INFO    MQ-UI-0              com.backup42.service.ui.UIInfoUtility   ] Loaded address=0.0.0.0, port=4243, and token from location=/var/lib/crashplan/.ui_info
[10.06.15 15:55:33.549 INFO    MQ-UI-0              com.code42.logging.AppLogWriter         ] WRITE app.log in 30ms
[10.06.15 15:55:33.549 INFO    MQ-UI-0              com.backup42.service.ui.UIController    ] UserActionResponse: StatusResponseMessage@33308927[ session=710370365797164190 ][ User@-383220706[ userId=1869805, name=Dan, username=MASKED ], AuthorityLocation@33050500[ location=central.crashplan.com:443, hideAddress=false, isLocked=false ], orgType=CONSUMER, upgrading=false, UpdateLicenseMessage[] [ authenticated=true, updateConfigPassword=false, username=danb35@gmail.com, securityKeyType=AccountPassword, dataKeyExists=true, secureDataKeyExists=true, secureDataKeyQA=null, authorizeRules=AuthorizeRules [hashPassword=true, ldap=false, minPasswordLength=5, usernameIsAnEmail=true, deferredAllowed=false], blocked=false ], locale=en_US, websiteHost=https://www.crashplan.com, defaultRestoreFolder=/usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/conf, os=Linux ]
[10.06.15 15:55:37.200 INFO    Factory$Notifier-UI0 com.backup42.service.ui.UIController    ] UISession Ended after less than a minute - 710370365797164190
[10.06.15 15:55:37.200 INFO    Factory$Notifier-UI0 backup42.service.backup.BackupController] UI:: AUTO IDLE... lowBandwidth=0 B/s, activeThrottleRate=20
[10.06.15 15:55:37.200 INFO    Factory$Notifier-UI0 com.backup42.common.command.CliExecutor ] RUN COMMAND: auto.idle  >  CommandResult@17428477[ auto.idle, success=true, result=null ]


I restarted the jail to see if that would kick off the update on the server end, but it didn't. It did change the key in the server's .ui_info file, though. Copied that over to the client side, no change in behavior.
 

brashquido

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
17
Do you see your client connecting inside the jail?

Code:
tail -f /usr/pbi/crashplan-amd64/share/crashplan/log/service.log.0

My issue it seems was much more simple. When I thought I had installed bash, I actually hadn't . Doing a "pkg install bash" was trying to install an earlier version of bash that no longer existed on the repo, even after doing a "pkg update". I ended up having to do a "pkg add" specifying the http location of the package. All good now and I can see the FreeNas CrashPlan Plugin is now running the latest version.

Code:
[10.07.15 10:32:38.923 INFO  main           com.backup42.service.CPService] CPVERSION = 4.4.1 - 1435726800441 (2015-07-01T05:00:00:441+0000) - Build: 30


After updating ".ui_info" a few times I am able to connect fine, however for some reason the FreeNas Plugin is unable to maintain a connection to any destination. Have tried Crashplan Australia and also a Windows 2012 Server in the USA as the destination and they drop the connection after a few seconds. From my Windows 2012 Server (also running Crashplan 4.4.1) to Crashplan Central there are no such issues. Any ideas?
 

nigma

Cadet
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
7
My issue it seems was much more simple. When I thought I had installed bash, I actually hadn't . Doing a "pkg install bash" was trying to install an earlier version of bash that no longer existed on the repo, even after doing a "pkg update". I ended up having to do a "pkg add" specifying the http location of the package. All good now and I can see the FreeNas CrashPlan Plugin is now running the latest version.

Hi, Could you please post the method to update bash. I also received an error when trying to install bash stating no pkg exists.

Thanks
 

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
2,874
Hi, Could you please post the method to update bash. I also received an error when trying to install bash stating no pkg exists.
It's up above in post #84.
 

frenzo

Cadet
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Messages
4
Is there a way to force the Crashplan engine update? I installed the plug-in and updated bash but the Crashplan engine is still version 3.6.3.
 

brashquido

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
17
Hi, Could you please post the method to update bash. I also received an error when trying to install bash stating no pkg exists.

Thanks

Try this;

Code:
pkg add http://pkg.freebsd.org/freebsd:9:x86:64/release_3/All/bash-4.3.0_1.txz


Make sure you give it a good wad of time after the completed installation for the Crashplan updates to go through. Will be interested in hearing how you get on with actually connecting to your Crashplan destinations.
 

gdarends

Explorer
Joined
Jan 20, 2015
Messages
72
I assume bash needs to be installed/upgraded in the jail?
 

nigma

Cadet
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
7
Try this;

Code:
pkg add http://pkg.freebsd.org/freebsd:9:x86:64/release_3/All/bash-4.3.0_1.txz


Make sure you give it a good wad of time after the completed installation for the Crashplan updates to go through. Will be interested in hearing how you get on with actually connecting to your Crashplan destinations.
That did the trick I think.... Although did get a message that an upgrade from 4.3.0 was attempted. Anyway, I am now on 4.4.1 and following the instructions here : http://support.code42.com/CrashPlan/Latest/Configuring/Using_CrashPlan_On_A_Headless_Computer worked. My port changed again, so had to update my port forwarding as a result.

@G. Arends - Yes, in the jail.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top