TrueNAS SCALE.. good iperf but <2MBytes/s transfers on gigabit network

nooobz

Dabbler
Hey so i have a problem Ive been trying to tackle for a few months now i like to read all i can before posting which i never do and im sure its pretty obvious what im doing wrong.
I am a complete novice when it comes to networking things so sorry in advanced.
So basically i have small home network i play with as a hobby my desktop is a elitedesk 705 transferring to a hp 6200 pro as my truenas scale server, going through a cisco sg300-28pp
Old hardware i know but for the life of me i cant get more than 2Mb/s transfers ether way
For one transfer i got >30Mb/s which i understand is fine for a megabit connection but haven't been able to replicate it since
Iperf is normal but samba transfers dont go above 2Mb/s ill attach what i can think of let me know if there's anything else.
also the same result from a vm to freenas using a separate nic

Attachments

• Screenshot 2022-12-15 151805.png
    Screenshot 2022-12-15 151805.png
    160.6 KB · Views: 123
  • Screenshot 2022-12-15 151850.png
    Screenshot 2022-12-15 151850.png
    55.5 KB · Views: 116
  • setup.txt
    7.3 KB · Views: 70
  • Screenshot 2022-12-15 152509.png
    Screenshot 2022-12-15 152509.png
    254.5 KB · Views: 114

jgreco

Resident Grinch
2Mb/s transfers ether way

Your fourth screen shot shows transfer speeds of 1.19MBytes/sec, which is about 10 megabits per second. Making up random abbreviations for your units is confusing to the discussion; please see

I suspect the HP gear has decent ethernet chipsets so the usual inquiry about Realtek ethernet can be skipped, I think.

nooobz

Dabbler
Your fourth screen shot shows transfer speeds of 1.19MBytes/sec, which is about 10 megabits per second. Making up random abbreviations for your units is confusing to the discussion; please see

I suspect the HP gear has decent ethernet chipsets so the usual inquiry about Realtek ethernet can be skipped, I think.