Smart TVs and Truenas?

Tricky13

Dabbler
Hi I am new to Truenas but not so much to NAS, have had and used a pair of Terramaster F5-221 NAS for about three years and having gotten fed up with the updates messing with the share system I have finally got around to installing truenas core on one of them and got things sort of configured but cant seen to be able to view any of the film files on my two smart TVs.

Now until recently I have been able to view a film library stored on my TNAS without issue, but recent updates have messed with this big time so that the only media server I can see on the TVs is plex local media server, i also have two Zidoo media boxes which have no problem seeing the SMB and NFS shares I have configured on both the TNAS and the Truenas, now I can understand this being a problem via the TNAS with the TVs but is there something I am doing wrong with the Truenas configuration that's stopping the TVs from being able to see the SMB and NFS files?

somethingweird

Contributor
Interesting, I didn't know that TVs support SMB / NFS protocol? Over at my house - I installed Emby plugin/jail - and I know that my TV support DLNA.

Tricky13

Dabbler
I guess it's possible that the TVs were previously just seeing DLNA and there is now a major problem with the TNAS not actually broadcasting where it was previously even though it's set up to do so, so guess it's possible I am now barking up the wrong tree.:confused:

somethingweird

Contributor
with truenas - you need to do everything pretty much - got to get your hands dirty to get things working - got to do technical stuff.

joeschmuck

Old Man
You should have no problem setting up Plex and you do not need to use all of Plex, you could just use the built in DLNA, keep it simple.

Tricky13

Dabbler
I thought I had set up the Plex server, but it's just not working can't access it to set up the DLNA server, followed the guides I have seen, it works fine on the TNAS.

joeschmuck

Old Man