Permissions destroyed everything

Status
Not open for further replies.

B3DDO3

Cadet
Hi, let's start off by saying while I have programming and a lot of PC experience. FreeNAS I'm a complete noob.

So anyway I have a lot of media on my server, I used sickbeard, couchpotato and plex to make sure everything was organized nicely. One show was not working correctly and I kept getting errors. Trying to fix this one error I destroyed everything's permissions so no plugin will start any more. The media is in the jail dataset which I know is not the way to do it however I have approx. 2 TB of data I do not want to lose. I really need help either fixing the permissions so that plex etc works again or moving my media to another dataset so it is safe and I can reinstall the plugins etc.

I know I haven't given much info into the mess that I caused but that's because like I said in this I am a noob trying to learn fast. Let me know what info you need to help me fix this and I will get it for you.

joeschmuck

Old Man
Please read the forum rules, they are short and tell you what data needs to be provided. Please provide it, it helps.

For your plight it is difficult to know what you did that caused the issues you are having so I would recommend that you either copy or move your data into a new dataset. If you have the space then copy, if you don't then move. You can do this from a shell and you would use the cp or mv command. Do a Google search for "freebsd cp" or "freebsd mv". The best option is to use the cp command if you have the space.

Provide us the output from the shell of the command df and this will show us the directory structure. Tell us here your files are.

BTW, many of us use Putty for the shell which means you would need to enable SSH in the GUI. Hopefully your skill set is able to do that. I'm not trying to insult you, many people don't know about this kind of stuff and to assume that everyone knows is absurd.