Dataset/Share permissions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Berrepoot

Cadet
Hi all,

A few days ago I installed FreeNAS 9.10.2. After a problem with a broken usb flash drive the installation went smooth.
I'm a noob in Linux/FreeBSD so I use the web interface as much as I can. So far I've been able to configure everything untill now...
My goal is to make SickRage, CouchPotato, SABnzbd and Plex work but also to create a share for all the media files.

I've created a volume "volZ" with 3 datasets:
  • images (just a share with a lot of images) :smile:
  • jails
  • media
In de media dataset I've created the following directories:
  • TV (with all the TV shows)
  • Movies (with all the movies)
  • Downloads (working directory)
    • complete
    • incomplete
    • scripts
I've configured the default jail settings and installed several plugins in the "jail" dataset
For each plugin/jail I've created a storage to the dataset "media"
jail_storage.png
To make the plugins work I had to set the permissions on the dataset "media" like this:
media_permissions.png

I also want to be able to see the media dataset from all my other pc's in my network (windows 7 home + pro and windows 10)
To do that I've created a windows share (SMB) and checked "Apply Default Permissions"
media_share.png

I've created a new user, added the user to the group media and made a network drive with those credentials.

Now "everything" seems to work correctly BUT I want more :smile:

I have several problems but I think they are all related to 1 bigger problem having something to do with permissions.
I've read several posts but since I'm new to all of this I don't understand what's wrong.
  • In SABnzbd there is an option "Permissions for completed downloads:". when I set this to 777 I always get an error message after each download ("unable to change permissions...")
    I've cleared this option so "problem solved" for now...