BUILD NEW - First FreeNAS, Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NicolasVin100

Dabbler
Hi everyone!

I’ve been reading through the forums, but this is my first time posting! There’s quite a lot of information to read and digest. I’ve been trying to be a figure out my build all by myself, but I still have questions (read doubts) and would really benefit and appreciate any suggestions or validations you can offer me. I Appreciate your feed back!

After reading through everything, I feel like FreeNAS is the right solution for me. Now, here are my reasons for this build :

- Plex (Movie, TV shows and music. Multiple clients, but I don't think there will be more then 2 simultanious stream [1080p])
- I’m curious about Sickbeard/Sickrage, Couch Potato, Headphones, Transmission and some of the other plugins...
- VPN (PIA)
- Jails to seperate the plugins and my data (non media) and secrity/encryption (advices??)
- OwnCloud (access to my content via the web)
- Backup for my Windows computers

Disk Size:
I envision this unit someday holding 12-20TB of data (Is mirrored nessesary for RAIDZ2??). I’m not sure if there’s any dangers using larger drives (I was thinking either go at 3, 4 or 6TB).

Am I wrong to think I should go with RAIDZ 2?

I’ve spent hours and hours reading through RAIDZ posts and trying to understand the benefits and issues of each.. I don't want to do this built to lose all my data!

Is WD Reds are the best way to go for the drives?

Should I back up my NAS with Crashplan Central (cloud service if anything happens to the house) or another service (suggestions?) or even plan for external HDD backup?

So far, this is what I was thinking of using :

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1240 V5 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor

CPU Cooler: be quiet! Dark Rock 3 67.8 CFM Fluid Dynamic Bearing CPU Cooler

Motherboard: Supermicro MBD-X11SSL-F-O Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard

Memory: 2x Crucial 16GB (1 x 16GB) DDR4-2133 Memory