Need help setting up my system

amuzhaqi

Cadet
As the title says, I am unsure about the past settings to follow regarding setting up my system. I am new to this, so that I would appreciate some feedback.

These are the following configurations for my system.

13th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-13600K
64 GB of DDDR5 RAM
2 x 4TB SSD
2 x 2TB NVME
1 X 16TB HDD

My idea is to use the two SSDs as Data VDEVs, one of the NVMEs as the boot system, and another as a Cache.
The 16TB will be my backup drive. I want to make sure what the best action would be to set up my system. The main usage of this system will be to store all my family pictures and have about a dozen docker applications running in the background.

Should I set up the data pool disks as MIRROR or STRIPE since I will have a backup? What is my best approach to go about this? I want to add that I might add more SSD drives in the future to extend the data size.

Arwen

MVP
Using a 2TB NVMe SSD for booting is like using a mile long train to go down the block for an ice cream. Way over kill. Boot devices need to be perhaps 16GB to 32GBs, depending on how many updates you plan to keep. Sometimes larger is desired, like 64GB to 128GB in case swap is put on it too. (But, then you may want a Mirrored boot.)

Using Striped data vDevs is not recommended. Yes it can be done, (and I do it for my media server's media pool). But, you loose the automatic repair capability of ZFS when a block or entire device goes bad. That would mean manual intervention with your backup each and every time a failure occurs. Yes, some people have to do it for the cost. That's their choice.

You don't mention how the 16TB HDD is connected. If wired up to the SATA port, that's fine. Just that permanently wired USB drives, (except boot devices), tend not to be worth various risks.