FreeNAS for LAN Streaming

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimdonghwan

Cadet
Hello,

i'm a total newbie to FreeNAS and want to migrate Windows Server 2003 to FreeNAS, not sure if it will be a good decision.

Working at Karaoke industry, we have 30-40 KTVs and every room has a PC with Windows XP.

All were connected to a Song Database server running Windows Server 2003 through a simple 10/100 LAN topology, say 192.168.1.1 for the Server, and the rest for the XP computers.

We have several folders being shared by the 2003 Server, like Song-1, Song-2, and the Database folder, and of course with User-based Permission (Read only, Read+Write).

The Server itself, is running with some HDDs:
1) 80GB HDD => 40GB drive C: for OS -and- 40GB drive D: for Database
2) 3x 2TB => for the song files (.dat .avi .mpg .mp4 & many more)

They're all running with old Intel processors & 2GB RAM including the Server, no problem by far.
The only way to test if it's okay or not, is to call & play the same song (same file) for every room at the same time, all 40 rooms plays the same song at once.

Sometimes they're laggy due to the ethernet card or cable issue, or broken RJ-45, or in rare case, the Switch.

i'm looking for good advices whether it's good to use FreeNAS or stick with the old system..i just couldn't close my eyes from the recent and great development of OpenSource OS & apps.

i'm also confused due to many Linux distributions, and after some google search, FreeNAS seems to have a good & special ability for managing strorage & file sharing.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you very much :)

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
10/100 LAN topology
Might want to consider 10/100/1000...

i'm also confused due to many Linux distributions, and after some google search, FreeNAS seems to have a good & special ability for managing strorage & file sharing.
FreeNAS is based on FreeBSD not Linux