SOLVED C2550D4I NO POST, NO VGA OUTPUT VIA IPMI

Status
Not open for further replies.

lightmanhk

Cadet
Hi, All.

First of all, I am new to nas server, forgive if I made any stupid mistake in this post.

I try to build a nas server similar to the one described here.

Here is my build:
  • ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard DDR3 1600/1333/1066
  • Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Server Memory Model CT2KIT102472BD160B
  • WD 3TB Red NAS Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache (x3)
  • CS Series 550W Modular Power Supply
  • Antec Three Hundred Two Case
However, I am having a couple of issue with ASRock C2550D4I board.

1) there is no VGA output by default. I am ok with since I still can connect it via IPMI. However, there is no instruction on how to enable this. I have done some researches but unfortunately there is no instruction either.

2) the console direction provided by the IPMI doesn't work at all. There is no image such as boot process through IPMIViewer at all. like 1) I am not able to find any usual information yet.

I have attached few images.

1.png: shows I can access the web portal of IPMI. However, as you notice, the remote control shows black screen and it always saying "Host is powered OFF or is in Sleep Mode". I have tried many times. It always keep saying the same thing.

2.jpg: Strangely enough, "Remote Control" page shows the Host is currently on. no idea why.

3.jpg: shows the result I get from the "Console redirection".

Anyway, Hope someone can give me some suggestions. Thanks a lot!

Attachments

• 1.png
    1.png
    71.3 KB · Views: 1,250
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    43.8 KB · Views: 1,030
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    54.4 KB · Views: 1,190

rogerh

Guru