X10SDV-7TP4F, LSI2116 and firmware issue with FreeNAS 9.10.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gana

Cadet
Hi,

I am new to freenas and this is my first freenas build. I am having some issues and hoping to get some help from the community to help me resolve them.

I have the supermicro X10SDV-7TP4F motherboard (with Xeon D-1537) which has 16 port LSI2116 SW controller on board. I installed Freenas 9.10.1 U2 successfully. But I get an alert to upgrade the P19 firmware version to P21 to be compatible with the v21 of the driver. I called supermicro, but they said that the latest version they have is only p19. So I am a bit confused.

Looking through this forum, I found some threads that mentioned that there is no P21 and only P20 available and that it would not be an issue to use this with v21 of the driver. Now for my questions.

1. Can I ignore the alert? Pls. note that I have P19 version and not p20 version of the firmware.
2. If there is a p20 or p21 version available for LSI2116, how/where do I get it given that supermicro has only p19.

Thanks for your time. Any help would very much be appreciated.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler

Gana

Cadet
Thanks for the quick response.

That link takes me to 9201 HBA page, which apparently uses the sas2116 controller.

1. Can I use the firmware listed for this controller to flash my motherboard lsi even though the interface is different (mine is mini sas hd vs mini sas on this hba)
2. Should I download the FreeBSD version of the firmware to use?
3. Can I still use this even though it is not from super micro?

Apologies for the newbie questions.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Can I use the firmware listed for this controller to flash my motherboard lsi even though the interface is different (mine is mini sas hd vs mini sas on this hba)
That is literally completely irrelevant. It's like asking "does this USB NIC driver work on my card which uses the same chip but on an M.2 card?".