volume degraded

quik

Dabbler
I am quite new to freenas. I have the server running for about 1 week now with a few restarts in between.
A few hours ago i got this message:
The volume media state is DEGRADED: One or more devices has been removed by the administrator. Sufficient replicas exist for the pool to continue functioning in a degraded state.

I have 2 pool , 1 raidz 1 pool with 4 HDD and 1 mirror with 3 HDD. 2 of the mirror pool are running thru a PCIe sata card. all othere SATAs are onboard.
The message happened for 1 HDD from each pool (means it should be the PCIe card) at the same time.
after a reboot freenas sees all HDD for a moment, but after a few minutes 1 drive from each pool disappears again.
The temps for the raidz1 are under 40°, the mirror are a bit higher but under 50° (havent come around yet to install a case fan)
I am at a loss why the HDDs suddenly seem to disappear... maybe a problem with the motherboard?

Redcoat

MVP
Likely this is just the typical experience people have with using PCIe sata cards with FreeNAS. One post by @joeschmuck does, I recall, describe a unit that is successful.
Standard advice here is to get an HBA if you are out of onboard SATA ports.

quik

Dabbler
I am using this card, seems like a HBA?
all the HDDs connected to the PCIe card work fine, both HDDs that seem to fail are connected directly to the motherboard
I just switched one of the failing HDDs SATA cable, still the same issue. The same drive just audible powered down /disconnected again (actually both, one from each pool)

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
The temps for the raidz1 are under 40°, the mirror are a bit higher but under 50° (havent come around yet to install a case fan)
That is way too hot. I have seen disk controllers stop working for being too hot. Get fans going.

gpsguy

Please provide detailed hardware information.