htrain933

Cadet
Hello,
I'm a newbie, and I've done a bit of reading around here. My system is
FreeNAS-11.1-U6
Supermicro X11SSM-F
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1275 v5 @ 3.60GHz
16GB ECC RAM
8x2TB HDD (4 WD RED WD20EFRX & 4 Seagate Ironwolf ST2000VN000)

My system was showing an error:
The volume vol1 state is DEGRADED: One or more devices has been removed by the administrator.

So I rebooted, and now it's showing:
The volume vol1 state is DEGRADED: One or more devices could not be opened. Sufficient replicas exist for the pool to continue functioning in a degraded state.

I've tried to look over some of the SMART tests, but I'm not really sure what I'm looking at, or how to tell what drives are bad. All 8 drives pass overall SMART short tests. Should I post the SMART outputs here?
So my question is - how do I tell what drive(s) or SATA cables are bad, and what steps should I take to protect my data. I do have backups, that's the good news! TIA.

Heracles

Wizard
Hey htrain,

In the WebUI, you can go to Storage and Pool. There, you can click on the Settings and select Status. That should tell you (and us...) more about what is wrong.

Good luck and good for you to have backups,

htrain933

Cadet
Hi Hercules, it looks like ada0 is unavailable. Should I go straight to replacing the drive?

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2019-09-25 at 9.23.11 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-09-25 at 9.23.11 PM.png
    252.8 KB · Views: 374

Heracles

Wizard
Hi again,

In such a case, one of the very thing to avoid is to panic and act too fast. Thanks to your Raid-Z2, your pool is still safe and still has redundancy.

Is your hardware hotplug or not ? If it is not, you will have to power down before unplugging the drive.
Do you already have a spare drive ? Is it tested already ?

Can you plug an extra drive in your box ?