Volume DEGRADED

Status
Not open for further replies.

lyle

Contributor
Hi, there. My RAID1 volume is showing Status as DEGRADED. I can still access all the data, so no problem there. I am getting a yellow Alert, WARNING the volume status is UNKNOWN: one or more devices could not be opened. Sufficient replicas exist for the fool to continue functioning in a degraded state. Attach the missing device and online it using "zpool online".

We had a power outage recently, so I am guessing that is the cause. I will be buying a UPS tomorrow, so please don't flame me. :)

Complete newbie here. Can someone explain in layman terms how I can get back to a HEALTHY status?

thank you!!

jgreco

Resident Grinch
There's a way to do this from the GUI but for discussion here the CLI is easier.

Go to the command line and type "zpool status"

Paste the results here inside a CODE block

lyle

Contributor
I had a peek inside the machine and found out that the power supply to the drive in question had become disconnected. I reconnected the drive and turned the system back on. It took along time to come online, but now I am showing HEALTHY again.

Does Freenas automatically sync the two drives then in a situation like this? As I said the volume shows HEALTHY and I can access all the data as normal. I am assuming I am good to go, but I would like some advice to confirm this as I am a little nervous now and want to make sure I still have redundant data protection.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
ZFS is a little smarter than your average RAID array. While we refer to its parity-based protection strategy as "RAIDZ", it is actually allocating things in a manner that results in storage of parity along with a stripe. It is ... different. Look at http://pthree.org/2012/12/05/zfs-administration-part-ii-raidz/ for a picture.