Truenas won't recognize hard drives

kamalov

Dabbler
Hi,

I am new to this and installing Truenas on an old pc.
Motherboard: MSI X79-GD49 PLUS
CPU: I7-4930K
RAM: 16GB
SSD: 256GB
HDD's: 3 x WD Red Plus 8TB

So the Truenas turned on but won't recognize the HDD's. BIOS recognizes the HDD's. I read around the forum and tried doing only 1 drive at a time, switching power cables, switching PSU, switching SATA cables and so far nothing is working.

Please help.

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer
The drives are not visible in the installer? Please describe in more detail what you did, what you expected to happen, what happened instead.

kamalov

Dabbler
The drives are not visible in the installer? Please describe in more detail what you did, what you expected to happen, what happened instead.
1 - I flashed the image file for TrueNas Scale using Rufus on a USB drive.
2 - Then I installed it using that USB drive to a Samsung SSD (256G).
3 - Then I rebooted the system.
4 - It loaded fine, showing the IP address and giving you the 10 options you get initially
5 - I accessed the device using the web interface
6 - Realized cannot create a pool because the HDD's are not showing up in the web interface
7 - I "troubleshooted": Replaced cords, RAM, PSU, tried only 1 drive instead of 3.
8 - When I boot into the BIOS, the BIOS recognizes all the drives.
9 - TrueNAS is not showing the drives so that I can start with making a pool

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Welcome to the forums.

Sorry to hear you're having trouble. Please take a few moments to review the Forum Rules, conveniently linked at the top of every page in red, and pay particular attention to the section on how to formulate a useful problem report, especially including a detailed description of your hardware and what sort of controller you are using to attach disks to your system. Please be specific.

You've basically given no one anything to work with, so the responses will tend to be random guesses rather than anything useful.