SOLVED Unable to boot with any hard drives receiving power

Status
Not open for further replies.

DGenerateKane

Explorer
I've read several threads with people recommending the Seasonic G series, so of course I got one. And it wouldn't power on. Got a replacement. Won't power on. Further testing found that it can power on, so long as no hard drives are plugged in at all. None. It's 550w, so power should not be a problem. While waiting for a replacement, I plugged in a Thermaltake SMART Series SP-750M 750W ATX 12V V2.3 & EPS 12V SLI CrossFire 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply and it booted just fine with all four drives. Now, I admit I have no knowledge of wattage requirements, but I at one point had a computer with a 10 year old 550w PSU running twelve hard drives, two optical drives and a low profile video card. So I don't understand why this one can't power on with even one hard drive.

Here is my setup for reference:
SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F-O uATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C222 DDR3 1600
Intel Core i3-4150 Haswell Dual-Core 3.5GHz LGA 1150 54W Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4400 BX80646I34150
Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) ECC Unbuffered Server Memory Model CT2KIT102472BD160B
SeaSonic G Series SSR-550RM 550W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready
NZXT Source 210 Elite Black Steel with painted interior ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Norco 5.25" to 3.5" HDD Cage (Not plugged in as the HDD's for it aren't going in for some time)
4x WD Red WD60EFRX 6TB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" NAS Hard Drive Bare Drive

Edit: Of course I solved it after posting, the sata power cables I tried were bad. Finally found one that worked. :/

Last edited:

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler