TrueNAS 12 on Odroid H2 - Installer won't load

mdrconsult

Cadet
Hi,

I'm new to TrueNAS and to this forum, so please bear with me.

I have an Odroid H2 with 16GB of ram, 500GB NVMe and 4 x 1TB SATA SSDs.

I downloaded the TrueNAS ISO and wrote the ISO to a USB drive using DD. I have used multiple USB drives and downloaded the image a 2nd time a tried again.

My system will boot from the USB drive and I get the first menu where I hit enter to load the installer. So far so good. Things progress and I get all the message Is would expect, but eventually the system starts streaming:

Root mount waiting for: CAM

This message will stream forever I assume. I have waited as long as 10 minutes and it never progresses.

My best guess is there is a bios setting that is wrong, but I don't know what. BTW, the system had previously been running Unbuntu which was installed from a USB based ISO.

If there is more information you need please ask and I will get it for you.

Thank You.
Mark

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
I'm not convinced that your hardware is a good choice for TrueNAS... those Realtek NICS are already a warning sign.

Can you get a standard FreeBSD install to start?

mdrconsult

Cadet
sretalla,

Thank You for responding.

First regarding my HW choice, I have seen others who have successfully used the Odroid H2 for a FreeNAS platform so I assumed that TrueNAS was primarily a name change, not code, and that it would work.