Some questions about TrueNAS

furiah95

Dabbler
Hi, I am new so I send a greeting to the entire community and I am also a newbie in this guild.

I was planning to make a cloud and remote host virtualization system, at first I was planning to use FreeBSD since I am a user of that OS. But when he met Thunder in the end he decided for him.

Well I will not extend the introduction any longer and write my questions.

Model: Dell PowerEdge R320
CPU: E5-2430v2
RAM: 24GB DDR3 ECC
Storage: 8 x 2,5 Sas Bays | 2 x 600GB 10 K SAS 6G 2.5 HDD | 6 X 1TB 7.2 K SAS 6G 2.5 HDD
Raid Controller: Dell PERC H710

I've thought about using that hardware. The problem from what I have read in the forum is the RAID controller that would have to be replaced by an HBA controller.

Apparently they recommend models like this:

Dell H310

But from what I see there are different vendors that advertise FreeNAS compatibility in their products, such as this one:

LSI 9201-8i

What I mean is that I am not supposed to have problems with other controllers, supposedly supported by Freenas.

Another of my questions is the following, the HBA controllers are used to contain all the Disks as if they were one, right? To then have a zpool with all the disks. And to be able to choose the RaidZ that best suits your needs, right?

So, I could connect my 8 drives to the HBA controller and have a separate SSD drive outside the HBA controller, to host TrueNAS and BOOT, right?

And another question about for a future expansion of the server.

I don't know if what I'm going to say is crazy, since I'm a newbie. I have seen HBA controllers with external connectors, to be able to connect them to other machines outside the server, you give me to understand, is it true?

For example to a storage array such as an HPE - AJ941A, It is designed for that, I do not know the procedure well, and the operation itself of a storage array.