Save power

Status
Not open for further replies.

norskman

Contributor
There are some of us, who do not use their NAS at night time.

Could we see a way, through the GUI to have a turn-off and a turn-on time?

Turning a PC on, may or may not be so easy to implement. But many BIOS's have this feature built in.

So maybe a turn off time?? I am not a programmer or a script writer.....any thoughts?

Think of all the fuel we could save, which you can use on your highways and byways.....instead of powering all of those FreeNAS servers....

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
No, this issue has been discussed to death.

It's actually possible that you'll be using more power once you factor in the drives having to spin back up and the power required to build more drives to replace the early failures caused by your spinning them down.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
What ^^^ said. But I'll go a little deeper.

What to shutdown your system at 10PM? Easy. Create a scheduled task in the WebGUI that runs at 10PM that is "shutdown -p now". Done. Your shutdown are now scheduled.

What your startups to be schedule at 6AM? Easy. Go into your BIOS and set that up (if supported). Done. Your startups are now scheduled.

The OS cannot schedule a start-up time. So there is never, ever going to be a way to do this because the OS is not accessible when the system is powered off. So you'll *have* to rely on your BIOS' featureset supporting schedule bootup times if you want it.

As @Ericloewe said above though, we've discussed this to death. ;)

FreeNASBob

Patron
No, this issue has been discussed to death.

It's actually possible that you'll be using more power once you factor in the drives having to spin back up and the power required to build more drives to replace the early failures caused by your spinning them down.