Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

pkg.FreeBSD.org could not be reached via DNS

Western Digital Drives - The Preferred Drives of FreeNAS and TrueNAS CORE

urobe

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
67
Hey there, I'm trying to install emby on a freshly updated 11.03 U2 (initally it was a 11.03 install) and I get the following error:

Code:
 emjail had a failure Exception: RuntimeError Message: pkg.FreeBSD.org could not be reached via DNS, check emjail's network configuration Partial plugin destroyed


is this rahter a vnet problem or with the network setup? The device works otherwise fine (I haven't installed any other plugins). System updates are automatically found, downloaded and installed. So I guess, the BAsic network setup should be correct?

I read somewhere that the initial 11.03 Release had some vnet issues, but I thought they were figured out in U1.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Tobi
 

sretalla

Dedicated Sage
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
3,064
What is your ifconfig in the jail?
 

urobe

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
67
Not sure, is this what you mean:

Code:

root@nas[~]# ifconfig
em0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        description: em0
        options=209b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGIC>
        ether 0c:c4:7a:4d:0a:63
        hwaddr 0c:c4:7a:4d:0a:63
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: no carrier
cxl0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=e802bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO6,LINKSTATE,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:07:43:31:ba:40
        hwaddr 00:07:43:31:ba:40
        inet 192.168.100.56 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.100.255
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet 10Gbase-SR <full-duplex,rxpause,txpause>
        status: active
cxl1: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        description: 10gb/s - 850nm
        options=ec07bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,LRO,VLAN_HWTSO,LINKSTATE,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:07:43:31:ba:48
        hwaddr 00:07:43:31:ba:48
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet none
        status: no carrier
em1: flags=8c02<BROADCAST,OACTIVE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=209b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGIC>
        ether 0c:c4:7a:4d:0a:62
        hwaddr 0c:c4:7a:4d:0a:62
        nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: no carrier
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
        options=680003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,LINKSTATE,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
        nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        groups: lo
bridge0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        ether 02:72:64:4a:1f:00
        nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
 

sretalla

Dedicated Sage
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
3,064
That's from the FreeNAS host...

If you do iocage exec <jaliname> ifconfig you will get a different output. (replace <jailname> with the name of the jail.
 

urobe

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
67
I see, thanks for the clarification. The problem is, that the jail isn't created. The installation process stops with the error above.
 

urobe

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
67
I also tried to use dhcp instead of nat, I also tried to assign an ip manually, but also with no luck.
 

urobe

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
67
If I select dhcp instead of nat, I get the following error:

Code:
embyjail had a failure Exception: RuntimeError Message: + Acquiring DHCP address: FAILED, address received: 0.0.0.0/8 Stopped embyjail due to DHCP failure Partial plugin destroyed


If i only select vnet and assign an IP manually, I get the same error as in the first post.
 

urobe

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
67
It actaully just installed, with neither of dhcp, nat, vnet cheked, blank ip4 adapter and a manual ip address. However the service is not reachable.

This is the output:

Code:
Warning: settings changed through the CLI are not written to
the configuration database and will be reset on reboot.

root@nas[~]# iocage exec embyjail ifconfig
em0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        description: em0
        options=209b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGIC>
        ether 0c:c4:7a:4d:0a:63
        hwaddr 0c:c4:7a:4d:0a:63
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: no carrier
cxl0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=e802bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO6,LINKSTATE,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:07:43:31:ba:40
        hwaddr 00:07:43:31:ba:40
        inet 192.168.100.33 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.100.255
        media: Ethernet 10Gbase-SR <full-duplex,rxpause,txpause>
        status: active
cxl1: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        description: 10gb/s - 850nm
        options=ec07bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,LRO,VLAN_HWTSO,LINKSTATE,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:07:43:31:ba:48
        hwaddr 00:07:43:31:ba:48
        media: Ethernet none
        status: no carrier
em1: flags=8c02<BROADCAST,OACTIVE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=209b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGIC>
        ether 0c:c4:7a:4d:0a:62
        hwaddr 0c:c4:7a:4d:0a:62
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: no carrier
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
        options=680003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,LINKSTATE,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        groups: lo
bridge0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        ether 02:72:64:4a:1f:00
        groups: bridge
 

sretalla

Dedicated Sage
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
3,064
However the service is not reachable
How were you trying to reach it? with no networking, the jail will have no target for you to reach.

what does iocage list show?

Have you tried an install with VNET, DHCP and BPF on?

Are you setting a gateway for the jail? Have you configured a gateway for your FreeNAS box in the Network settings?
 

urobe

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
67
How were you trying to reach it? with no networking, the jail will have no target for you to reach.

what does iocage list show?

Have you tried an install with VNET, DHCP and BPF on?

Are you setting a gateway for the jail? Have you configured a gateway for your FreeNAS box in the Network settings?
when I manually asign an IP, it can't be reached.

I have tried it with BPF on, with one of them it is even an requirement. but still no success.

what i did now, is using a physical network card and not share the one the system uses. Now it works like it's supposed, but that shouldn't be the goal. with manual setup I have set the gateway (edgerouter), in the system the router is also set. I also tried to set the DHCPs server address (Windows server) in the jail, but it didn't help either.

Will try iocage list when I get home.

Thank you very much for your patience and help!
 

nikkon

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
72
same problem here. i tried all possible combinations and doesn't work. If I install a simple jail...all works
 
Top