Newbies - making use of existing hardware for TrueNAS

waterfallbay

Cadet
Hi, I have an unused PC that i wish to convert into a NAS running TrueNAS. I am completely new to TrueNAS and is wondering if True NAS can fully support my exisiting motherboard and CPU, they are:

ASUS Aorus Z590 Master
Intel Core i7 10700
64GB RAM

Can TrueNAS recognize all the chips on the motherboard? including the onboard graphics and RAID controller?

Also, I planned to run it with a 8 bay case and create a 8TB x 8 RAID 5 configuration. However the motherboard only have 6 SATA port. Is it possible for me to use an SATA expansion card to acheive what I want to do?

Thanks in advance and i wish you all have a great day.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
The Aquantia ethernet on that board is a bit of a tragedy and is unlikely to work well (think: like Realtek).

RAID controllers are not supported in TrueNAS; ZFS is your RAID controller. I'm not sure it actually has a RAID controller, possibly just fakeRAID. If the ports can be set to SATA AHCI, they're probably usable.

Onboard graphics are typically not required on a server, and having it may complicate things.

For the most part, servers are best run on servers for the same reasons that gaming is best done on a gaming system, not a desktop or a Chromebook. Server boards are optimized to the task.

@waterfallbay : You probably want to start by reading a few of the Resources (a tab at the top of this page) to understand what you're up against. There's also an index of sorts in my signature that discusses this.

In short, it's usually not exactly as easy as one would hope, though gaining understanding along the way and the end result is very much worth the effort if you're into building computer systems.

Etorix

Wizard
Hi, I have an unused PC that i wish to convert into a NAS running TrueNAS.
Recycling an old desktop into a NAS is financially attractive, but comes with caveats.