New to TrueNAS, building a system

MatMK

Cadet
Hi,
my old Synology's best days are over, and after days browsing the web I decided to go with TrueNAS for my new main (and only) storage. Now I am in the process of choosing components, and I would greatly appreciate any tips. I am somewhat proefficient in IT, but a complete noob in storage, so please bear with me.

The main use case will be to store critical data, both personal and work, that I am keen on protecting. The data will be accessed almost exclusively through SMB from Windows, both locally (2.5 Gbps NIC) and remotely (100 Mbps up/down) through OpenVPN. My data consist of file-sizes from all over the spectrum, both a lot of very small and reasonably big. I also have a lot of copies of the same files all over the place, for versioning and backups that I am too lazy to go through :smile:. The system will be mainly used by two users; me and one other person with similar usage, but occasionally by others as well. I don't need it to be incredulously fast, just fast enough and reliable.
The second, less important usage, is going to be hosting a media server (just DLNA at the moment), and making use of some utilities offered by the system/applications, e.g. a download manager. I am not using any virtualized systems as of now, but don't want to lock myself out of it if I find the need later. Some ideas I might want to do in the future might include hosting a game server, light web server, home automation, or the like.