New to FreeNAS and having 2 issues with initial setup

Big Ry

Dabbler
I'm completely new to this, so sorry if these are either stupid questions or not even related to FreeNAS itself. It's hard for me to tell what the issue really is.

I have a Windows 10 machine that I use for both Plex and Surveillance (Blue Iris ATM, but moving to DW Spectrum soon). The machine is also being used as a workstation during the pandemic. My Plex storage is running low, so I've planned an expansion, but I wanted to run the drives in a redundant array/pool to get a good balance of storage space and data integrity (speed isn't super important in my case). Ideally, I wanted to stay in the Windows environment, but (reliable) Raid options are very limited. After a lot of different discussions, mostly over at Hardforum and on Reddit, I decided to go with setting up a FreeNAS VM in Hyper-V and configuring the storage drives as Z1. I don't need FreeNAS for anything besides managing the Plex storage drives. I still plan to run Plex in Windows, which means those drives need to be available in the Windows environment. I also need to run Plex transcoding on my 2060 KO in Windows. The iGPU is dedicated solely to surveillance for QSV FYI.

For running the FreeNAS VM, I have the following hardware that will be used for no other purpose besides FreeNAS:
- 3x WD Gold 12TB HDDs
- LSI SAS 4i4e HBA
- Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD

Other host machine specs include:
- MSI Z390 Gaming Edge AC (Virtualization turned on)
- i7-8700
- 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000MHz (XMP)
- Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 512GB (Windows boot)
- A handful of other HDDs and SSDs for Windows (all on the board)
- Windows 10 Pro w/Hyper-V enabled

The following resources are dedicated to the VM:
- 2 cores
- 12GB ram (not dynamic)
- 3x WD Golds passed through on SCSI controller
- Samsung EVO (setup as virtual disk because that was the only option)