Little over my head. Hoping to get Unifi Controller installed in FreeNAS.

Status
Not open for further replies.

-RYknow

Explorer
Hey all, so I'm still pretty new to FreeNAS. Ultimately what I want to do is run my Unifi controller from FreeNAS. I've never created or used a jail before, so I'm not exactly sure what I need to do.

When I try to create a jail I don't have any options for templates? Not sure that I need them. I did end up going through with it, and the jail appeared to be running (I could ping it). I was able to modify the rc.conf file to enable ssh, however I was never able to ssh to the jail.

If someone could just post a decent guide to creating jails and then getting the unifi controller installed within that jail, that would be great.

Thanks,
-RYknow

Last edited by a moderator:

Huib

Explorer
Hi -RYknow.
I'm afraid I'm quite new to FreeNAS also.
I can't help you with Unifi (don't know what it is) but I can give you a few tips.
I just treated it as a fresh minimal linux (sorry for the foul language guys) installation and used pkg to install what I needed.
You don't need to ssh into the jail. You can ssh into your main box and then change into the jail from there, OR you can just select the jail you made in the GUI and then select terminal at the bottom.

If you realy want to ssh directly into your jail change:
sshd_enable="NO" to "YES" in /etc/rc.conf and start ssh by executing:
service sshd start in the terminal from within the jail.

good luck!

-RYknow

Explorer
If you realy want to ssh directly into your jail change:
sshd_enable="NO" to "YES" in /etc/rc.conf and start ssh by executing:
service sshd start in the terminal from within the jail.

Thanks for the quick response. Yeah, I had modified the rc.conf file within the jail directory (ssh'ed into my FreeNAS box), but I still wasn't able to ssh to the IP I had set for the jail. Just kept giving me an error saying it couldn't connect.

HardDrv00

Dabbler