Installation Fails on SSD, can't share on RAID

HarryStottle

Dabbler
Another newbie.

Bought a cheap HP Proliant DL360p Gen8 with a couple of 1.8Tb drives I've configured as RAID 1.

My preference was to install Novell onto it but I had accepted that was infeasible because HP no longer supports Novell and I'd spent a couple of years trying to find the relevant drivers for a Proliant without success. (I support a number of ageing Novell servers all of whom need upgraded hardware)

But I was determined to avoid Windows Server at all costs (even though it's for a bunch of Windoze workstations to connect to as a file server) so I thought I'd give Linux a try, even though I'm a newbie on that as well. I managed to get the basic stuff installed, with a GUI to make life easier, but the peripheral setup of Shares, protocols, groups, users and getting Samba configured to allow windows connections has proved far too much of a hassle and one of the guys on Experts Exchange suggested, that given that I only needed a basic file server, I might try TrueNAS. So here I am. Just as much a TrueNAS newbie as with Linux but, I'm assured, this should be a lot easier.

In reading about TrueNAS, I came across refs to installing to and booting from an SSD and using the RAID purely for the file storage. Looked like a good idea, and I have a number of spare SSDs available, so I installed an SSD into the Server, created a bootable installation USB stick (using Rufus) and proceeded to install TrueNAS.

It gave me the choice of installing to the RAID (DA0) 1.6Tb or the SSD (DA2) 256Mb. I chose the SSD, entered username and password.

It warned me that the installation would wipe the drive and that I wouldn't be able to share any data on the system drive. That was exactly what I wanted so to consented to that and let it proceed.

It failed with the message
gmirror: [looked like the display cut off the first letter or 2] No Such Device: swap
dd: /dev/da2: Read-only file system