Howto install on ProLiant G8 from USB?

eltato

Cadet
I've been searching google and forums all night it feels.

I'm new to this HP Proliant G8 server, I have downloaded TrueNAS v13 as an ISO

I have burnt this ISO to a USB key using both `dd` on Linux and balenaEtcher on Mac. It doesn't seem to matter which USB slot I plug the drive into, I CANNOT get this server to detect and install from it.

I have switched the SATA controller to AHCI mode, and I read that the USB needed to be formatted with ISOLINUX.

I am not sure what else to try. All I want to do is install an OS on here, and I'm stuck. I'll be honest, Ive installed all manner of OS via different methods, but this is my first server with built in RAID type tech. So could be punching above my grade a bit.

Anyone got any advice or links whatsoever? I'm not computer illiterate, but I don't tend to dabble in the BIOS of a PC much, apart from changing boot orders, and simple things like that.

Many thanks, in advance people...

eltato (about to hit the hard stuff in desperation)

eltato

Cadet
Okay update time.

This is clearly an issue with the way I've burned TrueNAS to the USB stick, as (out of desperation) I downloaded the latest version of Ubuntu 20.04 and plopped that onto the same USB stick and it booted into the installer just fine.

So... what am I missing here. It must be this ISOLINUX thing, but I can't work out how to use the syslinux app to create a fully compatible bootable USB. I followed the instructions, but they possibly a bit high level for me.