SOLVED Trouble Installing TrueNas CORE 12.0-U6 with older server via USB

Curgen

Cadet
Hello Everyone,

Let me start with saying that i am a noob at this but i am trying to read the documentation and looking up if people have similar issues in order to help with my situation but i've had no luck so far. I am currently having issues Installing TrueNAS CORE 12.0-U6 onto my HP Proliant DL380P Gen8 via USB. This system's BIOS does not use UEFI but Legacy. Also this system does not have an OS currently installed. When i try to use a USB stick that i flashed FreeNAS on it using balenaEtcher the system does not seem to recognize it. I've also tested the latest UbuntuServer OS and the system can recognize it right away and install it with no issues. I read in the documentation that it works with both UEFI and Legacy BIOS but could it be that TrueNAS is only working with UEFI or just giving me issues with Legacy BIOS?

To clarify you:
1. Download 12.0-U6 ISO
2. Used balenaEtcher to write to USB flash drive
3. Tried to boot flash drive in legacy mode
4. System will not recognize drive

Have you tried SCALE RC.1 or CORE 12.0-U5.1?

Last edited:

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity

Curgen

Cadet
To clarify you:
1. Download 12.0-U6 ISO
2. Used balenaEtcher to write to USB flash drive
3. Tried to boot flash drive in legacy mode
4. System will not recognize drive

Have you tried SCALE RC.1 or CORE 12.0-U5.1?
Hi elvisimprsntr,

Yes I did all those 4 steps and yes i also tried SCALE 22.02-RC.1 and still the system will not recognize the drive with the TrueNAS ISO flashed on it. I have not tried CORE 12.0-U5.1 as i could not find where to download older versions of TrueNAS. Can you give me the link on where i can download an older version? Also thank you for the response.

Samuel Tai