HDD Standby and SMART problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

SavageBrewer

Cadet
So I am new to FreeNAS, but not to storage, I usually work on large EMC and Hitachi/HP storage arrays that are always on and I dont worry about things like spinning down disks to save power.
But I am turning to FreeNAS for a home storage solution, and right now I am having an issue.

Is it normal to have SMART interfere with the spindown of drives?
In Services - S.M.A.R.T. I have the check interval at a default of 30 minutes.
I also adjusted the power mode to "Standby - Check the device unless it is in SLEEP or STANDBY mode"

Under System - S.M.A.R.T. Tests I have one job created and that is to do a "Short Self-Test" every 5 days at midnight.

After playing with APM I disabled that entirely, I either want the disks spun up at full speed, or in standby and not spinning at all to cut down on electricity and wear.

Here is the issue, SMART appears to be interfering with my drives going into standby.
If the standby timer is set to less than 30 minutes (the check interval) the drive will spin down at the specified time.
But if the standby timer is set to say 30 or 60 minutes, it never spins down.

Is the behavior that I am seeing normal or expected?
I assumed that because I set the Smart job to run every 5 days this should not happen.

Now this is an area that it would be nice to see better documentation on as the interaction between SMART, APM and Standby all seem to cause issues with each other.

On another note, if the drives are in standby when the job is set to go, will the system wait until the drives are spun up and then run the check, or is that interval skipped until the next scheduled job triggers.

It almost seems to me that you have two choices?
Either you leave the drives spun up all the time and you can get the SMART checks to run properly
or
You can put the drives in standby and not have regular SMART checks.

Or am I missing something entirely here?