How to Let Drives Spin Down

Glorious1

Guru
Many of us want to have drives in one or more pools/volumes go into standby (i.e., stop spinning). I'm no expert, but I was able to do it finally and understand most of what is going on. As cyberjock has said, FreeNAS is not really designed for this, so it's like fitting a round peg in a square hole. Still, the developers left open the possibility.

Note that many of the experts here will tell you that drives last longer if they just keep spinning rather than stopping and starting, and even that less energy and resources are consumed by letting them spin than starting and stopping them and having to manufacture and ship replacement drives. I have no argument with any of that. But some of us may want to have drives spin up once a day (or less) for a task and then spin down.

There are several caveats:
  1. The first thing to know is that you can't spin down a volume that the system dataset is on. By default, this is the first volume you created. The system dataset gets written to constantly. You can set it to another volume in System > System Dataset (also check Syslog and Reporting Database). Ideally you would put that in a special volume on a solid state drive (SSD) or a SataDOM. I have a SSD in a USB enclosure left over from upgrading the drive in a laptop and it works fine plugged into a USB port. USB flash drives are not recommended as the constant writing is hard on them.

2. This will be a dealbreaker for some people: If there are shares on the volume you put in standby, it will spin up any time someone logs into the server, even if they are going into a different volume (does not apply to SSH). FreeNAS, in its wisdom, spins up all disks in volumes that have shares, even if you are going for a share on another volume. I have not tested whether this is true when the person logging in has no access privileges to that share.