Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Hacking WD Greens (and Reds) with WDIDLE3.exe

Krautmaster

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
35
Dear all, currently im trying to rebuild my homeserver rig to have a more energy saving environment.
Its a Xeon D Board with a 16x LSI onboard. ESXI and im passing that LSI 2116 to my Freenas VM.

There are 6x 4TB WD Green inside, I want them to go sleeping if no activity on disk. (the disks where sleeping fine with the LSI 9280 i8 I also have)

Code:
xigmanas: /home# camcontrol identify da2
pass3: <WDC WD40EZRX-00SPEB0 80.00A80> ACS-2 ATA SATA 3.x device
pass3: 600.000MB/s transfers, Command Queueing Enabled

protocol              ATA/ATAPI-9 SATA 3.x
device model          WDC WD40EZRX-00SPEB0
firmware revision     80.00A80
serial number         WD-WCC4E6HS7PKU
WWN                   50014ee20b6d870e
cylinders             16383
heads                 16
sectors/track         63
sector size           logical 512, physical 4096, offset 0
LBA supported         268435455 sectors
LBA48 supported       7814037168 sectors
PIO supported         PIO4
DMA supported         WDMA2 UDMA6
media RPM             5400
Zoned-Device Commands no

Feature                      Support  Enabled   Value           Vendor
read ahead                     yes      yes
write cache                    yes      yes
flush cache                    yes      yes
overlap                        no
Tagged Command Queuing (TCQ)   no       no
Native Command Queuing (NCQ)   yes              32 tags
NCQ Queue Management           no
NCQ Streaming                  no
Receive & Send FPDMA Queued    no
SMART                          yes      yes
microcode download             yes      yes
security                       yes      no
power management               yes      yes
advanced power management      no       no
automatic acoustic management  no       no
media status notification      no       no
power-up in Standby            yes      no
write-read-verify              no       no
unload                         no       no
general purpose logging        yes      yes
free-fall                      no       no
Data Set Management (DSM/TRIM) no
Host Protected Area (HPA)      yes      no      7814037168/7814037168
HPA - Security                 no


My personal goal is to have all VMs running on a 512 GB NVME disk and to have a 6x4TB RaidZ1 + 2 TB Cache via SSD. I want my disks to spin down - and that is the problem. Whatever i try to do, thy dont fell asleep.

With xigamanas it seem slike i could put them manually down by

Code:
xigmanas: ~# camcontrol standby da4 -t 10
xigmanas: ~# camcontrol standby da5 -t 10
xigmanas: ~# camcontrol standby da6 -t 10
xigmanas: ~# camcontrol standby da7 -t 10


but no matter what I configure in the Webclient, the disks stay up. There cant be really disk access, as they stay completely unconfigured during time of testing.

I tried 5 min of idle timeout, 127 power level, and i set SMART monitoring to standby. Disk will not stop at all - but anyhow manually with that command above.
In freenas its slightly different.

If I try ataidle i get this:

Code:
root@freenas[~]# ataidle -i /dev/da1
root@freenas[~]# ataidle -i /dev/da2
root@freenas[~]# ataidle -s /dev/da2
root@freenas[~]# ataidle -o /dev/da2
ataidle: the device does not support power management
root@freenas[~]# /bin/bash /bin/spindown/spindown.sh
How many minutes do you want between spin checks?
1
Monday, Jul 15
  pass0   pass1   pass2   pass3   pass4   pass5   pass6   pass7   pass8   Tmax Tmean
02:45:50  Spin    /bin/spindown/spindown.sh: line 85: let: Tsum=0+: syntax error: operand expected (error token is "+")
Spin    /bin/spindown/spindown.sh: line 85: let: Tsum=0+: syntax error: operand expected (error token is "+")
Spin    /bin/spindown/spindown.sh: line 85: let: Tsum=0+: syntax error: operand expected (error token is "+")
Spin 39 Spin 38 Spin 37 Spin 38 Spin 40 Spin 37 ^40  25.44  ERRc= -8.13
02:46:51  Spin    /bin/spindown/spindown.sh: line 85: let: Tsum=0+: syntax error: operand expected (error token is "+")
Spin    /bin/spindown/spindown.sh: line 85: let: Tsum=0+: syntax error: operand expected (error token is "+")
Spin    /bin/spindown/spindown.sh: line 85: let: Tsum=0+: syntax error: operand expected (error token is "+")
Spin 39 Spin 38 Spin 37 Spin 38 Spin 40 Spin 37 ^40  25.44  ERRc= -8.13


I cant really remember if i used wdidle to disable anything some years back, but i can hardly imagine that this causes my issue.

Any ideas how to get the atadile running like it should?

First thing I will do at home is to check the jumper as i saw this:
https://support-en.wd.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/20944

Someone experience with that?

Thanks for your help.
 

das1996

Junior Member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
14
I have a wd60ezrz from ~2017 that will not respond to wdidle3 or the idl3ctl commands. Both return a VSC error. I've tried this on newer and old pc's, set as IDE. Oldest being from 2009.

Any other tools that work to disable the head parking?
 

maxxim

Newbie
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
2
There seems to be yet another tool from WD: wd5746. It seems to be an updated version of wd5741:

Code:
c:\>wd5741.exe /?

WD5741 Version 1
Update Drive
Copyright (C) 2013 Western Digital Corporation

Syntax:
WD5741 [-d?] [-dn] [-dall] [-s] [-bn] [-?]
where
-s          Stop updating on first failure
-bn         Set maximum bytes per command (default=512)
-d?         List available drives
-dn         Update the specified drive
-dall       Update all applicable drives

-?          This help message

c:\>wd5746_win.exe /?

WD5746 Version 3
Update Drive
Copyright (C) 2014 Western Digital Corporation

Syntax:
WD5746 [-d?] [-dn] [-dall] [-s] [-bn] [-?]
where
-s          Stop updating on first failure
-bn         Set maximum bytes per command (default=512)
-d?         List available drives
-dn         Update the specified drive
-dall       Update all applicable drives

-?          This help message


Here's where I found it:
https://support-en.wd.com/app/products/product-detail/p/302#WD_downloads -> WD Red SMART load/Unload utility 2.5" Drive

Also, @cyberjock, you could add some more download links (directly from WD servers):

Sadly, I was unable to determine direct download links for wd5746 Linux binaries. But in this forum post, someone provides Linux binaries that he received from WD support (at least that's what he claims).
 

sretalla

Wizened Sage
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
3,922
Also, @cyberjock, you could add some more download links (directly from WD servers):
The original post is from 6 years ago and Cyberjock hasn't been seen here for at least 2 or maybe more years. Don't expect a response.
 

maxxim

Newbie
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
2
The original post is from 6 years ago and Cyberjock hasn't been seen here for at least 2 or maybe more years. Don't expect a response.
You're right, it says 'inactive account' when you click on @cyberjock. Well, maybe a moderator can update the original post - this topic is still relevant in 2020.
 

sremick

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
319
The original post is from 6 years ago and Cyberjock hasn't been seen here for at least 2 or maybe more years. Don't expect a response.
I wonder what happened to him. With almost 20K posts he was one of the most active users.
 

Sonik

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2014
Messages
20
Just reporting wdidle3 is still working for me in 2020. I have to run wdidle3 from an old low spec Acer PC from 2007 with the traditional BIOS. Tried it on my newest build and even with BIOS set to CSM and SATA mode set to IDE it doesn't work.
Works every time on the ACER PC though, I keep it lying around just for times like these. Bought a few more new WD20EZRZ drives direct from WD and was able to change the head parking timer to 5 minutes on all of them.
 

das1996

Junior Member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
14
^^Try that on a newer drive, something from the last few years.. it's not likely to work, even on an old pc.
 

G8One2

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
240
^^Try that on a newer drive, something from the last few years.. it's not likely to work, even on an old pc.
I tried it on a few WD Blues to no avail. I suspect something has changed in the newer drives. I don't even bother buying anything but NAS drives anymore these days.
 
Top