GA-X48-DS4 - max memory per channel?

Status
Not open for further replies.

beardy

Cadet
Hi all, noob here.

I was wondering if anyone remembers having this board, it will have an e8500 in it.
Manual is here - http://uk.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-X48-DS4-rev-13#support-manual

1) I have a question about the max memory - It's 8Gb and has 4 slots.
I'm assuming that means it's 2Gb per slot maximum, but I can't find that explicitly stated. I wanted to check as using 2x4gb modules would give me more options when trying to buy it.

2) Thought it worth checking that this wouldn't take more than 8Gb, if anyone has experience of it, before I buy the RAM. It's clearly stated as that, but just in case.
My (very dated) experience of using more than max memory is a machine will halt, or work, or are there other risks of trying more than the max?

3) I have noted it has 2x 2 x Realtek RTL8111C NICs and these aren't ideal. My current understanding is that they'll be sub-optimal for speed (vs Intel etc), rather than cause any serious problems, is that correct

Disk testing:
4) These are old drives (5x 1tb in RAID Z2) Possibly (2x 2tb and 1x 3tb to throw at it if anyone has any suggestions - although the partner to the 3tb just failed badly so suspect it's due).
Anyway, I wanted to test them first and have started reading through this - just wanted to check it's the best method still?
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/how-to-hard-drive-burn-in-testing.21451/

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
1. Not sure if that's even a supported configuration either by the motherboard or CPU.
2. CPU's for that motherboard don't support more than 8GB
3. If they work correctly yes. Realtek are notoriously buggy on FreeBSD
4. your vdev will only be sized according to the smallest drive. If you include the larger drives they won't show the additional space.