FreeNAS 11.1 Delay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigzaj

Explorer
First, just want to thank everyone who works on developing FreeNAS, I'm still learning but very glad to have this available to me.

I was initially a Corral user and learned FreeNAS through that path. Now I'm trying to jump to FreeNAS 11 and working on learning jails, etc. I got used to following the bug tracker during build up to Corral. It appears as if there is quite a long way to go to make August 1 for FN 11.1 and perhaps some issues with Docker support.

I've read a few comments here and there to expect it more like October? Any chance of getting an updated release date?

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Software is hard to track with dates. When it's done it's done. Only way to change that is to cut scope. So watch the bug tracker for updates.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

joeschmuck

Old Man
When you look at the roadmap you can see that there is also 11.0-U2 (looks like it's complete) and 11.0-U3 planned. Not sure if these will be released before 11.1 comes out but I would expect so.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
The roadmap (https://bugs.freenas.org/projects/freenas/roadmap) does not appear to be maintained. Of course 229 open tickets will not be completed until August 1. I would not expect that all these tickets remain on 11.1 if this version should be released before the end of this year.
It's maintained, that's the accurate status. And clearly Aug. 1st will not happen.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Tim1962

Patron
I want 11.1/Docker done when its done, but are we likely to see the roadmap dates revised now 1st Aug is upon us, or some announcement of the progress made to date?

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Watch the bug tracker if you want to see how progress is going.

Tim1962

Patron
Without being adversarial then does that mean 11.1 is out today? As a user rather than developer I'm not really able to "read" the bug fix progress;)

gpsguy