BUILD First Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

kapvu

Dabbler
Hello All,

I'm new to the forum and been reading up on a lot of post. Thought I share my build and see if i can get any feed back from the community. Please let me know your thoughts and any suggestions would help. I'm really new to FreeNas.

I will be using this NAS mainly to store picture/videos/music/movies/data. I also plan to stream music/movies through other devices also. My whole house is hardwired with cat6e so it will all be hardwired streaming.

I'm looking for the best performance with being a little green if possible.

Build:
Mobo - Asus M5478L-M/USB3 AM3+
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131942

CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 270
http://pcpartpicker.com/part/amd-cpu-adx270ocgmbox

PSU - Seasonic SSR-360GP
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151117

RAM - Kingston 2x8gb Unregistered ECC RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820139979

HDD - WD Red 2TB (3 of these)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236343

Case - Fractal Design Define
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811352011

Again any thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

gpsguy

Expect to hear a number of responses that you need a Supermicro mobo with a fast Intel CPU.

One of the experienced members here (joeschmuck), is using the same motherboard with a slightly different CPU and ECC RAM. I'm also considering buying one (maybe two) of the mobo's from Newegg to upgrade my desktop. I only need one, but given the price, I might buy a spare.

Consider buying a 4th disk and going with RAIDz2. With the larger drive sizes, the odds of a second drive failing (while recovering from one drive failing) increase.

kapvu

Dabbler
Thanks for the info.

My thoughts are that the NAS box isn't CPU hungry so any dual core cpu would suffice. Why would I need a faster CPU?