Expert Opinion, First FreeNAS Build

Plough

Cadet
Good day guys!

This will be the first time I am posting here but have been reading and researching. Though I dont have that time to really dig for information since Im quite busy with work as i am into field work most of the time. My Background is an IT Network Admin and System Admin though more on Windows Servers and Not Linux and Unix..

I would like help in Building and finding suitable hardware for my needs rather than buying Synology as i find it mediocre for the price of the hardware. And have been reading bad stuff if it conk out.. Though ive been administrating Synology already in our small office.

This build will be for my Home and to he shared by my family. Let me list Requirements:

a. File Server (Data, Photos, Movies, etc)
b. iSCSI
c. Video and Audio Stream
d. Network CCTV Data Storage
e. Cloud

Planning:
  1. I am planning to build FreeNAS under VM using VMWare ESXI
  2. Will be running also a PFSense Server along with it and another instance for AD Blocking.
  3. Will run on Gigabit Network and I am open in Upgrading it to 10Gigabit Network in the future
  4. Initial 4 x 4TB-6TB Hard Drives and Expandable to 8-10 Hard Drives in the Future.
  5. Initial 12gb-16gb ECC RAM
  6. 450W-550W True Rated PSU
  7. Atleast 2 x 128gb SSD for OS
  8. OPTIONAL: if only possible to be a Video and Photo Editing platform for my daughter (Sorry Budget constraint.. Lol)
Hardware and Limitations:

Processor:
  • Intel XEON E5-2600 series particular E5-2640
  • I am quite confused with XEON's and im still open to Suggestions
  • Is E3 enough?
Motherboard:
  • Of course I want SUPERMICRO but here in Philippines it kinda difficult to find one
  • Any good alternative suggestions is highly appreciated
RAM:
  • Any Suggestions for Brand and Type would do as long as its within the budget and reliable
SSD:
  • Im thinking of Intel or Crucial
HDD: