ESXi and FreeNAS - acceptable error?

Status
Not open for further replies.

toyebox

Explorer
Hey all! I have been using FreeNAS for about 3 years now, and today i finally migrated my server over to an ESXi platform. It seems to work very well, with the exception of one error.

error.png

From what i have read, this is an error for bad cabling, power supply issues, failing disk etc. But, in this case, da0 is the boot device for freenas. Is it safe to assume that this is alright and simply generated due to running on ESXi? I might move the installation to a dedicated USB flash media but i would like to keep it how it is.

Thanks!
I apologize, wasn't sure if this was the right section.

toyebox

Explorer

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Not sure, I've never used ESXi. I was only offering that thread for ideas in case you hadn't seen it. Maybe @joeschmuck has some ideas as to what could be causing that.

toyebox

Explorer
Not sure, I've never used ESXi. I was only offering that thread for ideas in case you hadn't seen it. Maybe @joeschmuck has some ideas as to what could be causing that.

Gotcha. Yeah i have PM'd back and forth with him quite a bit, and i am tired of bothering him :D:D

joeschmuck

Old Man
How do I ask this... Post what da0 is (I want to know the exact hardware) and how it's passed through.

If this is the FreeNAS boot device then I need some explanation of how this is working.

On my system I have a FreeNAS VM which resides on the ESXi boot drive. Now this VM could also reside on an ESXi datastore drive. If this is not what you currently have then I need to understand exactly what you have.

EDIT: Don't tell me it's a USB Flash Drive! If so, get rid of it.

toyebox

Explorer
How do I ask this... Post what da0 is (I want to know the exact hardware) and how it's passed through.

If this is the FreeNAS boot device then I need some explanation of how this is working.