Dell R630 FreeNAS v9-10- Crashing on many fronts

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bryon Brinkmann

Explorer
Anyone,
I have a Dell R630 2 Intel xeon E5-2697 v3 (16 cores per) with 384gb of ram, 4 1.98tb SSD's and 6 980gb SSD's w/ LSI controller card with 2 120gb SATADOM's where the OS was installed. I've been having some issue with this crashing on various fronts. First, I had a 8GB cache card that I think was questionable so I removed it from the equation thinking this might have been causing the issue (meaning tried to copy 80 gb data file and would crash @ 100mb to 50GB didn't matter). So when I remove it I was able to copy well over 200gb without issue. I still haven't done enough testing to determine. So I started to try to build a jail with advance setting and BOOM it puked again. I've run a couple of extensive hardware tests and everything passes without issue. This is a very beefy server and was wondering if there are any known issues with this type of setup. I'm new to FreeNas so I'm not sure of its limitations if any. So, my other question is, should I just build a ESXi and use Freenas under that. This server was given to me because of an issue that occurred in the server room and some water. I don't have a lot of trust in it but its passed every hardware test I've done, soooo....... I'm also not sure where the crashdump lives so I haven't attached one. Help? Any thoughts would be helpful.

MrToddsFriends

Documentation Browser
[...] LSI controller card with 2 120gb SATADOM's where the OS was installed [...] I had a 8GB cache card that I think was questionable so I removed it from the equation [...]

Sounds like HW Raid is being used, which would be a bad thing for FreeNAS. Which LSI HBA/RAID controller is installed in this system? The SATA DOMs (mirrored pair in FreeNAS?) are also connected to this LSI controller?

I don't have a lot of trust in it but its passed every hardware test I've done, soooo.......