Changing to usb boot drive from ssd

Dalton

Cadet
Hi all,
I am a complete newbie to all this so please bear with me. I have a Freenas box up and running however when I originally set it up I used an SSD drive as the boot drive. I would like to now change this to boot from a USB stick. As I have several TB of data stored already I dont want to lose it all and start from scratch so what would be the best way to create a USB boot drive to replace the existing ssd and then deploy it?

Thanks in advance for any help provided, being over 60 simple instructions are always preferred :smile:

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
Hi @Dalton

The following assumes you are not using an encrypted pool.

The easiest and safest method would be to follow these steps:
  1. On your currently running system, in the GUI, navigate to System -> General -> Save Config and save the downloaded .db file.
  2. Safely shut down your FreeNAS system, and unplug all internal drives.
  3. Remove the boot SSD and set it aside, in case things don't work out.
  4. Connect your new boot USB stick, power up, and boot from a FreeNAS installation DVD.
  5. Install FreeNAS to the USB stick.
  6. When the install is completed, shut down your system (or interrupt the reboot at the BIOS screen) and plug your data drives back in.
  7. Start up your system from the USB stick. You may need to find the IP address from the console.
  8. In the GUI, navigate to System -> General -> Upload Config and provide the path to the .db file you saved in step 1.
  9. Once uploaded, your FreeNAS system should reboot once more, and this time power up with your pool present. Verify that all files are accessible and there are no errors or faults.