Boot hangs on devd, autoloading module ichsmb.

djarum

Cadet
Hello,

I have been using Freenas and its successor Truenas for almost 8 years now and it has been working flawlessly.
I've just made a new build and ran into a problem which is driving me crazy. I hope you can point me in the right direction.

So, this is the hardware config for my build:
Motherboard: Asus P10S-X with chipset Intel C232
CPU: Intel core i3-9100
Memory: Kingston 32GB ECC DDR4-3200
HDD: 4 x Seagate Surveillance Skyhawk 2TB for storage pool and 2 Silicon power Ace SSD 128GB for boot-pool

I've downloaded the truenas core 13.0-U3.1 image and wrote it using BalenaEtcher to a USB stick. The installer started perfect and after install it booted.
It dit boot until the part where de devd started:

Starting devd.
Autoloading module: ichsmb
ichsmb0: <Intel Sunrise Point-H SMBus controller> port 0xf000-0xf01f mem 0xdc31c000-0xdc31c0ff irq 16 at device 31.4 on pci0
smbus0: <System Management Bus> on ichsmb0
And after that message, nothing happens anymore. The sytem hangs totally and doesn't respond to any button combination.

Possible solutions i have tried
  • Installed it on a different hard drive, SSD and also HD, as a pool but also only as 1 drive. Tried different configurations, same outcome.
  • Tried a different Truenas version, ie: Truenas 12.0 and even Freenas 11.0 (with Freenas it ended with the message: "Starting devd")
  • Tried different ethernet cables and ports (the motherboard has got two ports)
  • Updated the firmware of the motherboard to the newest version, and also downgraded the firmware to some old versions. Unfortunatly with the same outcome.
  • Tried different USB ports (USB 3.0 but also 2.0) for the installer USB.
  • Tried different USB keyboards.
  • Disconnected everything exept 1 boot drive. Installer worked fine, but same message.