As a noob, I am a bit concerned about migrating to Scale, can someone calm my nerves?

newfreenas

Dabbler
I have skimmed the following link:

I am running TrueNAS-12.0-U8.1

I see some success stories in threads and some struggles that I can tell by what was being troubleshot I would not be able to solve.

can someone recommend the safest way to migrate from core to scale? I have deleted all of my jails in favor of VMs.

I have 6 VMs I would like to maintain and approx 2TB of used storage

some additional links I have skimmed:

essentially I am hoping someone has some additional guides/blogs/youtubes even of successful migrations I can peruse prior to commiting to the upgrade so I can do so with confidence of not losing anything or at least minimizing loss.

Whattteva

Wizard
Do you even have a need to migrate? It sounds like all your needs are already met by jails/VM's currently.

I've been seeing an influx of SCALE problem posts like this one among them. I myself am seeing CPU constantly hovering at 10% even though it's just an experimental setup with no clients and no real data on it??? Some other people on Reddit also confirmed it. For reference, my TrueNAS CORE machine, which actually has real production data idles at under 1%...

Personally, I don't think I'll ever migrate to SCALE because my NAS is the. mission-critical part of my homelab. I've been running FreeNAS/TrueNAS on FreeBSD base since 2013 (see my join date) and it's been nothing but rock solid and reliable.

The less critical stuff (like apps) are hosted on dedicated vanilla FreeBSD and Debian VM's on a proper hypervisor, which are much better-suited for the task than TrueNAS IMO.

MisterE2002

Patron
Also missing the "why".
I run SCALE myself. It is somewhat rough at the edges. Especially with containers. But i trust my data with it.