Guide: Migrating Gitea from TrueNAS Core Plugin to TrueNAS Scale App

lailakas

Dabbler

About This Guide:​

Version: TrueNAS-SCALE-22.12.3.3
Date: Aug 07 2023

Greetings, everyone! I recently upgraded my NAS from Core to Scale. I backed up configurations and data of all my jails and tried to migrate them to Scale Apps. As a newbie, I found there are many unexpected issues that has made the process a lot trickier than what is on the their official generic migration guides. Yet I found it really hard to find relevant information about them. I managed to succeed after hours of research, trial, and error. I hope the existence of this guide will fill the gap by some extent. My an hour of typing can save many others form hours of researching. Even if you are not migrating from Core, or you are not using TrueNAS at all, this guide may help you troubleshoot.

Disclaimer: I am very new to TrueNAS Scale and even Docker, thus many of my approaches may not be optimal. Although I try to make this guide as variance-aware and future-proof as possible, there are per-person variances that I can not account for and future changes that I cannot foresee. Therefore, you are responsible for your own data, and do sanity checking each step before proceeding, especially if you are from a very distant future. I do not take any responsibility for any data loss or damage. Make your backups and plan BCDEF.

Before Upgrading to Scale:​

1. Check if Your Gitea is Using PostgreSQL Database​

• There are several ways to check, one of which is by looking at Gitea's app.ini file, for the Gitea plugin I used, it is located at
      Code:
      /usr/local/etc/gitea/conf/app.ini

If it is not there, find it using find or locate then use a text editor like nano to read the content.
    • Find the [database] block and the DB_TYPE in it.