Advice needed on upgrading server with new drives

JWGlide

Dabbler
Not a complete newbie here but not a power user either so if these questions have been answered previously, I appreciate a link and will go find the answers there.
If not -

Currently running v11.2 with (4) 4TB WD Red drives in ZFS2 configuration.

I bought (4) new 8TB drives to add storage to server (not yet installed). I understand that simply swapping the drives won't automatically make the pool larger, but not sure how to expand the size of the pool safely when adding larger drives.
The other thing I considered is that my network and needs have changed a bit and I've gotten a better understanding of how the NAS can work and would best suit my new needs. So I was thinking about starting fresh, going through the setup of the NAS all over again to best reflect how I'd like it to work. What would be the best method to migrate the data if I chose that route? For clarity, what I mean is -
I want to take all the data on my NAS off of it, then wipe my NAS and start fresh with the larger drives, and put the data back onto the new system.
I have a drive that the data could be moved to off of the NAS if necessary while the new NAS is set up.
Best way to manage this kind of project?
TIA

Redcoat

MVP
Are you still using your 2018 Mini (perhaps with a new motherboard)?

If so, you're limited to 4 drive bays, so you can either do a one-by-one replace (and the full 4x8TB will be available after the resilver of the last drive) or use an external drive to offload your data from the existing drives, replace them with the new, install a new OS version and transfer your data back.

And a quick check, "just in case": You did make sure that your new drives are not SMR drives (that don't do well in TrueNAS)? AFAIK there are only a few at 8TB that are SMR - but you want CMR drives for sure.

Last edited:

JWGlide

Dabbler
No I am on a 2020 mini
Intel Atom C2750 @2.40ghz (8 cor) - 16gb RAM
Still limited to 4 drive bays