Data safety - advice needed

Konrad162

Cadet
Hello, everyone.
I have a problem, maybe it is not big. But I need a piece of advice.

Short description of what I have:
E3-1240 v5
GA-X150-Plus WS
32 GB RAM
1 x SSD 512GB - Windows 10
1 x HDD 3TB - ST2000DM001-1ER164
2 x HDD 4TB - TOSHIBA HDWE140
soon 2 x HDD 4TB - ST4000VN008

I have many photos and other quite relevant data on this 3TB disks.
Right now what I'm doing - I have a script that is running every day and it is making a backup to this TOSHIBA HDWE140 (on even days to one, on odd days on other).
I'm a photographer and I would like to keep a two-day backup if something will go wrong with my edits.
After the backup (FreeFileSync) does 2 TOSHIBA HDWE140 are going offline thanks to DISKPART - offline disk command.
So does two Thosiba disks are used for a maximum of 1 hour per day.
Once a week I'm also doing a backup on two USB HDD drives (Thosiba 2TB)

So from a hardware failure point of view, I'm more or less secured.
But in the past, I have experienced data degradation. And I believe (tell me if I'm wrong) but I'm not protected from this catastrophe in any way.

So I was thinking about FreeNAS, this "new" file system and its Scrub and SMART test functions.
I tried to build FreeNAS on Hyper V but it was a failure - for example, no SMART data.
Yes, I know FreeNAS needs to have access to real hardware. But I don't have much money on a dedicated NAS machine. That is why I was looking for used parts / pc / servers whatever. And I have found Lenovo TS140. I would move there 2x TOSHIBA HDWE140 and 2x ST4000VN008.

But still, I'm not sure... do I need this and if this is the best way to deal with my problem. I hope the experts like you can give me some guidance on this completely new topic.

garm

Wizard
Hi and welcome to the forum,